Turning up the Heat

By D Jackson Leigh

Heat, cold, rain, drought – weather drives life on a very basic level in all parts of the world.

Aching bones predict a coming cold snap, a herd of cows lying down (not just a few napping) portend impending rain, thunder in winter forecasts snow will follow seven to ten days later, and so forth.

And, any culture born from agricultural roots, like the Midwest and the South, have learned to respond accordingly. If winter’s coming to the Midwest and granny says to go ahead and dig her hole next to grandpa in the family cemetery before the ground freezes, you better do it. Everybody knows the old and infirm seem to drop along with the outdoor temperature every year. Likewise, heat, the most basic measure of Southern weather, generally slows everything down in the sultry states because we’re familiar with the dangers of dehydration and heat stroke.

Writers, however, turn up the heat to bring our stories to a boil rather than slow them. Heat between two characters is the heartbeat of a romance. Heat brings tingle to a sex scene. Heat accelerates the pace of the plot to a breathless ending.

SwelterConsidering that heat was the theme, my timing was a little off when I found my rhythm while writing Swelter.

I had signed a contract with a deadline, then procrastinated getting started.

I always intend to write during the summer months but find it difficult with so many book events during the warm months. I still work a full-time job that pays my mortgage, so my writing time is mainly on weekends. This past summer, I had six weekends in a row booked with travel. So, no writing.

Autumn was rolling in when I whipped out the first chapters to introduce my two characters to the readers and to each other. Then I suddenly had writer’s block over what to do next. I struggled through those fall months, then went to visit a close friend, VK Powell, for one of our frequent brainstorming sessions. She’s a master plotter and lives in an awesome high rise condo where one wall is all glass and looks out over a downtown city park. So, as is our custom, we imbibed – I’m partial to whiskey and she likes vodka – and brainstormed while I paced and stared out at the city lights. She was left with empty liquor bottles, and I went home filled with inspiration.

Only now, it was the dead of winter.

So, I jacked up the furnace and turned on the gas logs in the fireplace until I was sweating and The Terrors, my three rescued terrier mixes, had their tongues hanging out.

The heat building in Swelter is three-pronged: chemistry between August and Teal; temperatures baking the Texas Panhandle; and plot tension as danger escalates.

In a nutshell: Congressional aide Teal Giovanni is fleeing the media and her shattered life after her affair with a married senator makes prime time news. Betrayed by her lover/law partner, August Reese is hiding out at a small cattle ranch to testify against a drug kingpin. Attraction sparks when Teal’s aging Honda blows its engine on a steamy stretch of Texas blacktop, and she’s rescued by August. But just as that spark bursts into flame, their worst nightmare comes calling. Will they survive or swelter as the heat becomes unbearable?

Why the Texas Panhandle? I’ve always been fascinated by places like Caprock Canyon State Park, red rock giants carved out and standing tall against the skyline. Besides, what’s sexier than cowgirls in boots and chaps?

The book’s title? Well, when temperatures become too hot to withstand, it’s not uncommon to hear a Southerner to proclaim: “I’m just about to swelter.”

Since Swelter was written in winter, it only seems appropriate to have it turn up the heat with December release to warm your holiday. Hope you enjoy the ride.

 

Parting note: Leave a comment on the Bold Strokes blog site by 10 p.m. Saturday, Dec. 10, and I’ll announce two winners on Sunday, Dec. 11, to receive autographed copies (ebook copies if you live outside the U.S.) of Swelter.

18 Responses to “Turning up the Heat”


  1. 1 kejaeck December 8, 2016 at 9:37 AM

    Got it, and I’m looking forward to sweltering while I read it in FL!

    Like

  2. 2 lesficreader December 8, 2016 at 3:54 PM

    Sounds like a great book to hunker down with this winter 🙂

    Like

  3. 3 Devlyn December 9, 2016 at 6:41 AM

    I am so looking forward to this one and given that it is currently summer here in Australia, I look forward to reading it while sun baking and sweltering under the Aussie sun. With appropriate sun screen, clothing and hat of course. Of course I am also looking forward to it because it was written by a fantastic and talented author.

    Like

  4. 4 Deb Dodge-Hankin December 9, 2016 at 9:14 AM

    Only half way thru but it is a DJackson Leigh book. Keeps you turning the pages to see what happens next. Great book (never read one I didn’t like). Way to go Deb. Now I have to get back to reading.

    Like

  5. 5 Linda Scott December 9, 2016 at 12:13 PM

    This sounds like another DJackson winner. I do enjoy your books and characters and who doesn’t need some warming up on a chilly night.

    Like

  6. 6 WolFyre Press Studio December 9, 2016 at 1:59 PM

    Definitely sounds interesting and I’m sure it will be a winner!!!

    Sui

    Like

  7. 7 S.A. December 9, 2016 at 2:20 PM

    Thanks for the blog! I’ve enjoyed all your other books so far, and have been looking forward to this one. A new winter book release about warm summer weather works for me, as well 😉

    Like

  8. 8 ChrisA December 10, 2016 at 3:07 AM

    This sounds perfect for a winter reading

    Like

  9. 11 Marion December 10, 2016 at 4:23 AM

    Always look forward to a new D Jackson book. I’ll be sweltering in the Aussie sun with this one.
    Thanks to D Jackson and Bold Strokes for the opportunity.

    Like

  10. 14 Ron December 10, 2016 at 4:26 AM

    Sounds like an interesting book.

    Like

  11. 15 D Burdyck-McConnell December 10, 2016 at 8:50 PM

    Can’t wait to read this new one from D Jackson Leigh. I really enjoyed her previous books.

    Like

  12. 17 sequimmorgayne December 12, 2016 at 11:25 AM

    Your new story sounds like the perfect way to warm up in this cold spell here in the PNW!

    Like

  13. 18 Angela December 15, 2016 at 8:19 AM

    Living in Scotland it would be good to warm up with this book 🙂

    Like


Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 622 other followers


