Random Acts of Progress

By Aurora Rey

 

When I wrote stories as a child, I did so because it was a fun way to imagine experiences and adventures beyond my own. As I grew up, I came to understand how much more power stories had, both for the writer and those who read them. I spent a few years obsessed with the idea of being a writer, without writing much.

And then I went through a period of personal upheaval and soul searching and a divorce. As I came out the other side of that, I remembered how much writing meant to me. I started writing in earnest and somewhere along the way I found my voice.

It wasn’t for another couple of years that I began writing romance. Even now, with my third romance coming out in a few months, writing romance—lesbian romance, no less—feels like an act of defiance. A heady mix of hope and daring that says love matters. Queer voices matter. I matter.

This sentiment has felt especially important after the recent US election. Politics aside, the uptick in hate-fueled speech and actions demands a response. There has been a flurry of activity on my social media sites around the idea of doing something—attending a protest or calling congress or having hard conversations with family. There’s also been a lot of talk about loving more, of random acts of kindness. I like the philosophy of that, spreading love and joy to complete strangers. I don’t think we can have too much of that in the world.

I’m trying to do my part. On a recent trip to Louisiana, I left extra cash in my hotel room for the housekeeping staff and generous tips at restaurants and coffee shops. I made eye contact with strangers and smiled. I reached out to a few relatives I was inclined to avoid. I’ve called my senator. But there are days when it doesn’t feel like enough, when the impact feels too small.

I’ve decided to expand the idea slightly. I call it random acts of progress. Actions that have a concrete impact on issues I care about. Donations are part of it, because money matters. But it’s other things too—volunteering with the local refugee welcome organization or serving on the board of the center for survivors of domestic abuse and sexual assault. It’s making a commitment to make things better for those least able to advocate for themselves. Even if those individual acts don’t feel like much. Just like random acts of kindness, they add up. That’s the whole point, right?

Crescent City ConfidentialAnd that brings me back to writing. I just sent off the final revisions for Crescent City Confidential and I’m nearing completion of my first draft of Summer’s Cove. As much as it feels sometimes like writing romances is the last thing I should be thinking about, I know that’s not true.

The simple act of writing is, in fact, doing something. Telling stories of love and hope, stories in which women, queers, and people of color save the day and live happily ever after, is progress. Until the day conversion therapy is a bad idea referenced in psychology textbooks, until no child fears coming out, until every family is treated with dignity, LGBTQ stories are an integral part of making the world a better place. And I’m proud to be part of it.

 

6 Responses to “Random Acts of Progress”


  1. 1 Missouri Vaun December 1, 2016 at 7:58 PM

    We are of the same notion, my friend. I say “random acts of kindness” shouldn’t just be a bumper sticker. We should make it real. Great column. Thank you.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. 2 Lee Lynch December 1, 2016 at 8:48 PM

    My intent too. Thanks for verbalizing it.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. 3 Devlyn December 2, 2016 at 6:15 AM

    Thanks to you, and all of the other queer and lesbian romance ( my favourite genre ) writers out there for validating my worth, my life and my soul. You not only entertain me, you give me hope and joy with your stories ( especially the HEA ones ). I look forward to reading more from you Aurora and know I will enjoy your next as much as I have enjoyed your others. Keep writing in the knowledge that you do make a difference.

    Liked by 1 person

  4. 5 S.A. December 2, 2016 at 3:46 PM

    I love the sentiment – random acts of progress. What a wonderful way to put it! And I agree that such acts are so necessary, especially following this most recent election. It’s hard sometimes not to despair about the likely future trajectory of LGBT issues (at least over the next few years), and I relish the idea of turning that on its head by DOING. Thanks for the blog, and keep up the good work with the writing!

    Liked by 1 person

  5. 6 Erin McKenzie December 14, 2016 at 9:57 AM

    As you said, there seems to be a post-election counter message of kindness and acceptance. I’ve especially enjoyed some commercials lately, from Amazon, Coke and others, which are stressing acceptance and togetherness. Thanks for writing!

    Like


Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 625 other followers


