The Chrysalis Confabulation – From Writer to Author

By Robyn Nyx

I write. Not because I want people to read my words (although that is a very lovely consequence of being published by the biggest and best LGBT publishing house in the world), but because I love doing it. There are characters and settings, and experiences and dialogue bouncing around my head on a minute-to-minute basis, and it’s amazing. I love developing heroines and villains, writing dialogue that somehow manages to surprise myself, and unlike several of my author buddies, I do love to write sex.

 

Never EnoughBut I don’t think I really realized just how amazing it was until I received my first book contract (for Never Enough, now available direct from Bold Strokes Books). Even then, I didn’t fully appreciate the privilege, not only to have company in my cerebrum, but to have the opportunity to share my words with the world.

 

That’s what part of this blog’s about. The gamut of emotions an author goes through when they’re first published. There’s disbelief when you read the email offering you a contract for your pretty paper baby. Then comes elation, because someone actually believes you’re talented enough for them to invest $10,000 to edit, produce, and market your manuscript. A few short months later, there’s pain.

 

Oh, so much pain.

 

(I love you, VV, and I smiley-face you, CC).

 

And sometimes, petulance and toy-throwing ensues. But once that subsides (duration dependant on author-stubbornness), resignation and determination set in. Relief is quick to follow when your final draft is offered, along with the requisite sacrificial Trump supporter, to your editor. As the release date creeps ever closer, there’s trepidation and excitement.

 

And then – absolute panic. I’ve spoken to many authors who say they write because they have to, and they write for themselves, so what does it matter what others have to say? But when the realization actually hits that your carefully crafted collection of characters will be read wider than your circle of friends and family, is it not human nature to want to locate the nearest underground bunker and not surface until the Walking Dead apocalypse has finally struck?

 

No? Perhaps it’s just me then. And I’ve been warned not to read reviews. That’s like telling me not to put something in my mouth because it tastes bad. It may well taste like the sweaty underpants of Boris Johnson, but I have to find out for myself. Which brings me to my first review, in the mainstream Publishers Weekly. All in all, it was a pretty good review. So my question is, do I stop there? Or do I seek out the words of anyone and everyone who has something to say about my writing? Do I have the self-discipline not to? Because I’ve certainly not got the thick hide to cope with an assortment of acid-tongued attacks. Should I care? You’ve spent your hard earned mullah on my book, so I want you to have a great time reading it. And I want to be the best author I can be, and that can only happen by listening to constructive feedback and learning from it. Over the coming months, and hopefully years (with The Extractor Trilogy beginning with Escape in Time, April 2017), I guess we’ll see.Escape In Time 300 DPI

 

So, thank you for reading this and for reading any of my words, whether you like or loathe them, whether they scare or seduce you, whether they repulse or romance you. If you want more of them, head over to my website now and make contact. I’d love to hear from you.

8 Responses to “The Chrysalis Confabulation – From Writer to Author”


  1. 2 I. Beacham November 16, 2016 at 2:05 PM

    Robyn,

    Loved reading this – welcome to the happy family of BSB! The adventure has just started….

    Beach 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  2. 3 Devlyn November 18, 2016 at 6:57 AM

    Congratulations on the publication of your debut novel. I look forward to reading it. I enjoyed your blog and your thoughts. While I am no Author, I am an avid reader and reader of many reviews. If I was you, I would have a friend or loved one filter reviews for your reading. While there are many, many good reviewers out there, there are also many trolls who seem to take pleasure in ‘ripping’ others apart for no other reason than to be nasty pasties. I often read reviews after I read a book and think to myself WTF, did we even read the same book? Not all reviewers are thinking of providing constructive feedback to the author when writing a negative review.
    Whatever you decide, I hope you have a lengthy and happy time with the BSB family.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. 6 S.A. November 19, 2016 at 6:57 PM

    Loved the blog, thanks for sharing such candid emotion. 🙂 Congrats on the book, I look forward to reading it.

    Liked by 1 person


  1. 1 News Roundup: New Author Nita Round, Festive Fare from Clare Lydon & Jade Winters, Polari with Kiki Archer Tonight in Brum, and More! | UK Lesbian Fiction Trackback on November 19, 2016 at 3:28 AM

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 625 other followers


