Two Books in One

By VK Powell

 

For the first time as a published author, I’ll have two books out in one year! (Exclamation mark because I never imagined it.) I have plenty of ideas in the queue and more than enough time to whip them into a story. The truth is I’m a travel slut, so one book a year helps feed my travel jones and writing remains a true joy instead of a j-o-b.

 

Anyway…here’s how this unexpected two-book feat occurred. For those of you who don’t know, I’m a very organized person and twice a year I purge unwanted or unused items and donate to charities (or friends who ask for advance notice). During one of these expunging adventures, I found a file on my computer marked On Hold Projects. Inside were two manuscripts written ten years ago that I’d completely forgotten. (Several of my writer buddies couldn’t believe this.)

 

The next decision seemed like a no-brainer – dust off one of those puppies, bring it up to snuff, and dash it over to my publisher. Right? Easier said than done. I found revamping an old manuscript much more difficult than starting from scratch. I was surprised how much I didn’t know about writing when I started (and believe me, I still have much to learn), but obviously I’m not a substantive editor. Tearing the story apart and putting it back together with the things I’ve learned along the way was not as easy as I’d hoped. My hat is off to the talented editors who work with newbies and make it look effortless. The experience has convinced me of one thing: the second found project will probably never grace my editor’s inbox.

 

Here’s what’s on offer this year from yours truly:

 

deceptionDeception, my August 2016 release is now available. Colby Vincent, a DEA agent undercover in the homeless community, and Adena Weber, administrator of a day center for the homeless, butt heads as Colby investigates a drug diversion program being operated from the center.

 

In November, Lone Ranger, will be out. In this story, freelance reporter, Emma Ferguson, tries to uncover the truth behind a thirty-seven year old disappearance while park ranger, Carter West, struggles to keep the details secret.

 

I’ll let you decide which is the lost and found project. Please share your guesses on my website, Facebook, or in an email.Lone Ranger

 

As always, thank you for reading.

 

VK Powell

vk@vkpowellauthor.com

www.vkpowellauthor.com

 

9 Responses to “Two Books in One”


  1. 3 Shell September 20, 2016 at 6:27 PM

    Loved Deception great job VK it rocked. Looking forward to Lone Ranger too. 😀 Two books in one year is like sodding Christmas come early as far as I’m concerned!!🎁🎁 Well done on your double achievement, I just know you’ll not disappoint…you never do 😉

    Liked by 1 person

    • 4 vkpowell September 20, 2016 at 8:04 PM

      Thank you, Shell! I’m glad you liked Deception. It was different for me to write but very enjoyable. Let me know what you think about Lone Ranger in November. 🙂

      Like

  2. 5 Michelle Goddard September 20, 2016 at 6:33 PM

    Loved Deception VK great job 👍 Looking forward to Loan Ranger roll on November!
    Two books in one year by my fav au author is like sodding Christmas come early 🎁🎁 as far as I’m concerned and you never fail to disappoint. Well done on your achievement 😀

    Liked by 2 people

  3. 6 Beth September 20, 2016 at 7:07 PM

    However it comes about, as a reader, I am thrilled that there is another VK Powell book due out.

    Liked by 1 person

  4. 8 Devlyn September 21, 2016 at 4:31 AM

    I consider this news an early birthday present, even though I know the news isn’t exclusively for me, I will share it with everyone lol.
    I am excited by is news and can’t wait to read Lone Ranger. I really enjoyed Deception and in typical Vic style, you had me on the edge of my seat from the first paragraph. I especially liked the secondary characters and thought SingSong’s phrases/rhymes were very clever. Both Colby and Adena are complex and lovable characters. Thank you for writing such a wonderful book.

    Like

  5. 9 S.A. September 21, 2016 at 2:34 PM

    Hi! I recently tried some of your past novels, and am looking forward to reading these new ones. Congrats on getting 2 books out in one year. I enjoyed your perspectives on dusting off an old story and getting ship-shape years later.🙂 I’m curious if I’ll be able to tell which of these is the revamped work…

    Like


Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 2,021 other followers


