The Wearable Book

     by Franci McMahon 

   for Clifford Henderson

 

Knitting a pair of socks is a lot like writing a novel. When I craft socks they demand I spend a considerable time living with them before they are fit to be seen in public. During this time the garment and I become very intimate.DSC03662

The process takes place on many levels, from origin of idea to building row upon row of tiny loops, chaining the wool into a complete creation and I type, The End.

My imagination forms the socks into a kaleidoscope of finished work before beginning the construction process. I play with alternative endings, colorful characters that clash and are eliminated, or develop them into rich, even shocking forms. Will they be made from the wild colors of my mind, or rise out of a dutifully followed pattern? I suspect I’d be bored if I tried to structure a genre mystery using a blueprint from one of the many How To Write guides. A template can be seductive, but as with any formula, it is hard to deviate onto new ground while following the rules.

Perhaps I’ll use odds and ends left over from other projects. Tidbits and yarn endings I didn’t want to throw away, but probably should have.

My mind spins at the range of textures, choices spanning the contrast of mohair or lambs wool to give softness, nylon to add wear, or cotton for cool weather. One odd concept I’ve always loved is this: the weight of wool. Among knitters this is a common term, but for me it has always held mystery. So I imagine yarn of fingering weight, small but tough or light airy angora, or bulky yarn knit on larger needles for the work booted country dyke.

In many ways this relates to the author’s voice, this elusive term that defies definition, yet you know if it is present, or when it is generically absent, and the words have a certain flatness. You know that the author has reached for the Thesaurus one too many times.

Modern developments have introduced another decision, whether to knit them in wool that is machine washable versus the kind of wool I caress in a warm sink full of water and Woollight, gently squeezing the knitted creation out in a towel, and lovingly arranging them on a dry cloth on my dresser or kitchen table. The first wash gives the product shape, checks for flaws and leaves them smelling of the natural aroma of sheep’s lanolin.

Staying the Distance            Editing also lovingly shapes the final work. I am increasingly saddened by the quick ease of authors to self-publish. Most often they are deprived of this keen-eyed scrutiny, which enriches them as writers. For me the learning process is obvious comparing my first novel with my third. If you’re lucky you can have the opportunity to pull out and reknit the worn foot or foundation of a novel. In the years since my first novel Staying The Distance, was originally published, I’ve learned more about the building of a piece of writing. With the guidance of my editor, Jerry Wheeler, I reshaped and reconstructed a better fitting foot.

So, to all my knitting siblings out there, I wish you cozy feet this winter. And those of us who also write, try to imagine your novel as a friendly pair of socks.

9 Responses to “The Wearable Book”


  1. 1 Lee Lynch April 26, 2016 at 7:40 PM

    Lovely piece, Franci. Great analogy.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. 3 Mardi April 27, 2016 at 2:50 AM

    Great image – takes the stress away when you empower the creation with a different image. Clever🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  3. 5 Brenda April 27, 2016 at 7:14 AM

    So delighted to find this piece in my inbox this morning! Creativity is so magical and anybody can have it…I love your analogy with knitting – the infinite possibilities in the beginning and how and why one narrows down to a certain pattern – I would imagine books sort of write themselves once you get going…

    Liked by 1 person

  4. 6 franci mcmahon April 27, 2016 at 10:40 AM

    I think they do when they’re going well and have warm legs.

    Like

  5. 7 Devlyn April 28, 2016 at 3:40 AM

    Franci, I enjoyed your anology between being an author and knitting socks. Both of which I am completely inept. Your talent to do both so well is admirable. I look forward to reading Staying the Distance.

    Liked by 1 person

  6. 8 Clifford Henderson April 29, 2016 at 1:33 PM

    What an honor to have a blog dedicated to me. Thank you. I totally get it. But then, as you know, I also knit and write. : )

    Like

  7. 9 S.A. April 30, 2016 at 6:35 AM

    I enjoyed this analogy, thanks!

    Like


Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 2,023 other followers


