SALVATION and The Zone of Author Contentment

By I.Beacham

SalvationIt was a day like any other day.

The sun came up at dawn and the birds chirped.

The cat collided with the inside of my bedroom window as a blue-tit landed on the outer sill unaware of the danger that lurked within.

The bird flew off. The cat ambled to the kitchen for an early morning power snack.

A dog barked in the distance.

I rose. I brushed my teeth.

Everything seemed normal in the provincial town I call home.

Except it wasn’t.

Something had changed.

I knew it the moment I sat down in front of my laptop.

The empty pages that had stared back at me the day before yesterday, taunting me with my inability to dream up my next book, started to quiver and fade.

All at once, my fingers cut across the keys like a centipede wearing running shoes.

They moved so fast I had to keep dipping my fingertips into a bowl of water to cool them.

Yes, something had changed.

I had changed.

I had entered…“The Zone of Author Contentment,” and I was finally back in the groove.

Ask any writer what I’m talking about…they’ll know.

It’s where the author gets dumped on by inspiration.

Music. Movie. Poem. Conversation. Photo. News article.

Anything can spark the imagination and fuel the writing frenzy.

My new book, SALVATION. (Roll of drums…hit the lights)

What kick started it?

The previous day I had slipped off my lucky writing rabbit slippers (they are the ones with the huge fake ears). The luck bit wasn’t around.

I donned my sneakers and headed for a historic building up the road.

It was the type of joint where you paid a few bucks to kill a few hours.

As I wandered round the gardens, I saw a woman in dirty cargo jeans pushing a wheelbarrow loaded with plants.

She came close. Real close.

I caught the smell of manure.

Years of well-honed instinct told me she was the gardener.

It was as we passed that our eyes met.

I saw something there. She tried hard to hide it but I’m a writer. I sense these things.

I caught a look of despair and desperation on her face.

I was looking at a woman living day to day, coping with life, and life wasn’t good.

It had nothing to do with the production cycle of gardening and weed control.

Her face haunted me.

It was still haunting me as I opened the tin food for the cat later that evening.

I saw her face as I went to bed.

I dreamed.

The woman told me she had lost love. Real love…the type of love that never dies.

She told me her happiness had been stolen. The woman she still loved now hated her—for all the wrong reasons.

When I woke the next morning I had my story. It was a sad one full of angst.

I had found my missing character.

The rest as they say is history.

The gardener became my SALVATION.

15 Responses to “SALVATION and The Zone of Author Contentment”


  1. 1 Kathy March 22, 2016 at 8:54 AM

    Sounds amazing. Can’t wait to read it.

    Like

  2. 2 Dorinda Depp March 22, 2016 at 11:49 PM

    Hi Beach. Can’t wait to read your new book. Have enjoyed all that you’ve written so far

    Like

  3. 3 Devlyn March 23, 2016 at 6:50 AM

    Beach, I’m glad you were able to overcome your writers block and produce a new story for us. I look forward to reading Salvation as I know it will be good.

    Like

  4. 4 Kim March 23, 2016 at 11:06 AM

    Peaked my interest! Looking forward to the read.

    Like

  5. 5 I Beacham March 24, 2016 at 10:25 AM

    Hi Dorinda, thanks for the support! Hope you’re hale and hearty.

    Beach

    Like

  6. 6 I Beacham March 24, 2016 at 10:28 AM

    Hi Devlyn, The Writer’s Block curse can go get stuffed. It’s good to have another book out. And you’ll be proud of me, I have another one written which will hopefully make it to print sometime spring 2017. Yay!

    Like

  7. 7 Lynne March 25, 2016 at 8:46 AM

    I’m looking forward to reading the new book. Good to see that the writer’s block has gone.

    Like

  8. 9 piscesmoon2u March 25, 2016 at 11:55 PM

    Hi Beach, Seeing your blog reminded me I hadn’t written to tell you Thank You again for the book Sanctuary I won. I enjoyed the characters and their story, intense at times but worth it. Thanks again and I will be watching for Salvation to drop. Linda Scott

    Like

  9. 10 I Beacham March 26, 2016 at 12:22 PM

    Hi Linda, and great to hear from you.

    Beach

    Like

  10. 11 S.A. March 27, 2016 at 6:07 PM

    Fun blog; thanks for sharing an insight to your muse. (And I’m glad that she came back from vacation so you could produce another story for our enjoyment!)

    Like

  11. 12 Mardi ALexander March 30, 2016 at 5:14 AM

    Loved your blog Beach – so very Beach – made me smile from start to finish. Looking forward to your new book🙂

    Like

    • 13 I Beacham March 30, 2016 at 6:19 AM

      Hey Mardi! Great to hear from you and when are you coming back over here? You’ll be missed at Nottingham this year but maybe next?

      Like

  12. 14 I Beacham March 30, 2016 at 6:21 AM

    S.A. thanks for the comments…not sure about my sharing muse…the inner machinations of my mind are a bit scary 🙂

    Like


  1. 1 News Roundup: Blogs, Audio Books, Reviews, Giveaways, and BBQ Beach Book Launches, Oh My! | UK Lesbian Fiction Trackback on April 9, 2016 at 6:05 AM

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 2,021 other followers


