Not Your Normal Book Blog

BY LISA MOREAU

love-on-the-red-rocksCan I be honest here? I’ve had a tough time writing this blog. So much so that I’ve perfected the art of procrastination from this one article alone. On the upside, my canned goods are alphabetically arranged and my sock drawer has never looked neater. So, why am I dragging my feet? I’m in a quandary of how to peak your interest in my novel, Love On The Red Rocks, without giving away too much of the plot. That’s easier said than done.

So, how about we start with a question: What do you get when you put a disappearing Indian, red rocks, a ghost town, and a bunch of lesbians together? No, this isn’t a Zen Koan or a weird, probably politically incorrect, riddle. These are some of the elements in my book.

Intrigued? Well, I see you want more, so how about I introduce you to the cast of characters?

Malley is a quirky, cool chick who whispered the book in my ear. This is her story, but I get the credit as the author since I did all that typing. Malley isn’t in my head anymore, but she’d probably want me to tell you that she’s self-assured, organized, and knows what she wants. That would be accurate from the outside, but inwardly she’s insecure, fearful, and a little clueless. Jessie is Malley’s love interest. In early feedback from the book, everyone wants to date―and frankly, do―Jessie. She’s sexy, romantic, and a bit of a new age nut. She turns Malley’s world upside down, making her question her desires and face her greatest fears. There’s also Lizzie, Malley’s selfish best friend; Nicole, a stuck-up lawyer; and Rhonda, the hefty, unrefined cowgirl. As a side note, most people are surprised to learn that my favorite character in the book is Rhonda. I found her uncultured, brash behavior delightful.

Interested in reading the book yet? Geez, tough audience. Okay, maybe we should talk about that disappearing Indian.

The prologue in the book actually happened, minus the disappearing act. Yes, I encountered a flute-playing , ancient Indian who gave me a heart rock by the Kachina Woman in Boynton Canyon. (If we’re getting technical, it was actually a rose quartz crystal, but it’s a rock in the book). Most of the novel takes place in Sedona, Arizona amidst the majestic, mystical red rocks. Sedona is a new age mecca where weird stuff happens, which made it the perfect backdrop for the novel. But don’t worry, there isn’t anything too weird. Just enough to make it interesting.

How’s that? More? Wow, you’re sorta greedy.

Well, in addition to the above, Love On The Red Rocks has a couple of steamy encounters, a lesbian resort, an accidental naked shower scene, the world’s only teal arches, scrumptious butterscotch cinnamon buns, and most of all a sweet romance.

If that doesn’t convince you to check out my novel, I’m not sure what will. Now I’ll excuse myself because I’m hungry, and thanks to this blog I can easily find the canned turkey chili which is alphabetically arranged under C…or maybe that’s T.

12 Responses to “Not Your Normal Book Blog”


  1. 1 petra February 2, 2016 at 8:33 PM

    Sounds like an interesting read. Good luck with the book🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  2. 2 Kim February 3, 2016 at 2:07 PM

    Congrats on the release and actually the cover photo worked!

    Liked by 1 person

  3. 4 walnut242 February 4, 2016 at 9:09 PM

    If the book, and I suspect it is , is half as funny and entertaining as this this blog it is for sure going on my reading list. Thanks, look forward to reading your novel.

    Liked by 2 people

  4. 6 judym22 February 5, 2016 at 6:31 AM

    Well your blog worked, I want to read this book!! Congratulations on your debut novel. 😊

    Liked by 1 person

  5. 8 Debby February 5, 2016 at 11:16 AM

    Your book sounds interesting. You wrote a good blog that encourages me to get your novel.

    Liked by 1 person

  6. 10 S.A. February 7, 2016 at 6:20 PM

    Fun blog! Glad to know it both helped you get the word out on your book and inspire some necessary tidying around the house.😉 Looking forward to reading about this cast of characters!

    Liked by 1 person

  7. 11 Lisa Moreau February 7, 2016 at 9:22 PM

    Thanks for reading and commenting. I need to write another blog ’cause my house is disorganized again. It seems to be the only thing that motivates me to clean🙂

    Like

  8. 12 JoHanna Massey February 29, 2016 at 5:44 AM

    Sounds interesting. That is quite a cast of characters!

    Like


Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 2,031 other followers


