It started with a song, and ended with gangsters

BY ALYSSA LINN PALMER

 

MidnightAtTheOrpheusMy new book Midnight at the Orpheus started with a song. Specifically, it was a rendition of Stardust (a Hoagy Carmichael song) as performed by Louis Armstrong. I’d been listening to classic jazz for awhile, but that song started me thinking about a dance floor, with men in tuxedos and women looking like Louise Brooks. This idea percolated in the back of my mind, but it wasn’t until I was watching one of Humphrey Bogart’s old gangster films that a story started to form.

 

It was a new direction for me, and an experiment: a book with three protagonists, three intertwining stories, a lesbian love affair, and a cop trying to solve a crime. And it was historical, and I knew next to nothing about the 1920s.

 

I started writing, and plotting, but I soon realized I had a problem. A really big problem. There was no way I could possibly write this book without in-depth research. I started digging online, but it wasn’t enough. I had to go to Chicago.

 

When I began looking into research opportunities, I found out about the Newberry Library, and discovered they had a substantial collection I could use to flesh out my novel. There were maps of gangsters’ hideouts from the mid-20s, access to articles, but most of all, there were the papers of a woman named Bessie Barnes. She produced stage shows at well-known Chicago nightclubs, and even worked with Fred and Adele Astaire, and gave Ginger Rogers her first dancing job. (see: http://mms.newberry.org/xml/xml_files/Barnes.xml )newberrylibrary-alyssalinnpalmer

 

Seeing all the theatrical photos, the postcards, the menus… the Orpheus nightclub began to take shape. Most essential to my research were the receipts in her papers, outlining the costs of running the nightclub, and how much the entertainment was paid. All these little details helped to flesh out where Nell, her lover CeeCee, and CeeCee’s lover Sheridan spent most of their time.

 

For the gangsters, I took a gangster tour. Sometimes corny, with audio of tommy guns firing, and some flogging of souvenirs afterwards, the bus tour took myself (and my parents, who helped me take the research trip in the first place, as well as my aunt and uncle) to all the essential gangster locations: the Holy Name Cathedral, with bullet holes still showing in the stone; the former locations of the Lexington Hotel (where Capone stayed) and Colosimo’s Cafe; the location of the Saint Valentine’s Day massacre; and my favourite, the Biograph theatre, best known for being the place of John Dillinger’s death.

 

thebiograph-alyssalinnpalmerI was able to get a feel for the city itself, and for the distances traveled, though much of where we toured through on the South Side has become quite gentrified in comparison to the tenements and brothels and other unsavoury places that used to populate the area. For that, I had to use some old photos, and a lot of imagination. I spent five days in the city, and it felt like I had just a taste of the place.

 

I’m starting to think that I need to return to Chicago. Maybe another book would be a good excuse?

 

—-

Midnight at the Orpheus book blurb:

 

Chicago, the Roaring Twenties.

 

Cecilia Mills is new to town and struggling to survive. Her world is turned upside down when she falls for gangster Franky Greco’s moll Nell Prescott. Working at The Orpheus dance hall thanks to Nell, she becomes known as CeeCee and rubs elbows with gangsters and the city’s elite, and she and Nell hide their affair from Greco.

 

Patrick Sheridan is fresh out of prison, bent on revenge, with Greco in the crosshairs. He gets a job as CeeCee’s bodyguard, and despite her infatuation with Nell, love blossoms between CeeCee and Sheridan. When Sheridan sees his chance, thanks to a disillusioned cop seeking his own revenge, he must choose where his loyalties lie as CeeCee and Nell are caught in the middle.

 

—-

Buy links (if wanted/needed):

 

Bold Strokes: http://www.boldstrokesbooks.com/9781626396074.html

Amazon: http://www.amazon.com/dp/1626396078

B&N: http://www.barnesandnoble.com/w/midnight-at-the-orpheus-alyssa-linn-palmer/1123020177?ean=9781626396074

 

—-

Author Bio:

 

Alyssa Linn Palmer is a Canadian writer and freelance editor. She splits her time between a full-time day job and her part-time loves, writing and editing. She is a member of the RWA, the Calgary RWA, and RRW (Rainbow Romance Writers). She has a passion for Paris and all things French, which is reflected in her writing. When she’s not writing lesbian romance, she’s creating the dark, morally flawed characters of the Le Chat Rouge series and indulging in her addictions to classic pulp fiction.

9 Responses to “It started with a song, and ended with gangsters”


  1. 1 Devlyn December 29, 2015 at 8:23 PM

    Glad you enjoyed your visit and research to Chicago, maybe you could write a story about Australia and come here for a visit. Congratulations on your new book, I look forward to reading it.

    Like

  2. 3 Patty Anderson December 30, 2015 at 12:25 AM

    Sounds like a good book. I love historical Les fic. p

    Like

  3. 5 S.A. December 30, 2015 at 11:13 AM

    How fun to dig into your research that way (and making it a family trip to boot)! Sounds like you’ve learned a lot – more than is likely to fit within this book, so I think you have a very good excuse for another trip.😉 I’m looking forward to reading the book.

    Like

  4. 7 walnut242 December 30, 2015 at 11:24 AM

    Enjoyed reading your blog and now your book is on my reading list. The research you did sounded like a lot of work but also a lot of fun. It is so much better when you can enjoy your job. Happy research and happy writing to you in the coming New Year.

    Like

  5. 8 Widdershins December 30, 2015 at 6:48 PM

    Research road trips are always a necessity for the writing life!😀

    Like


  1. 1 I’m guest blogging today! | Musings of a Writer and Unabashed Francophile, by Alyssa Linn Palmer Trackback on December 29, 2015 at 10:04 PM

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 612 other followers


