Officer in Distress, Code 5000, Ten-thirty-three, Ten-thirteen…

 BY ERIN DUTTON

The language or codes used varies among jurisdictions, but no matter the jargon, it’s the call every emergency dispatcher hates to hear.

BSB-OfficerDownWhile researching my newest release, Officer Down, I reflected on my own career as a dispatcher. Sixteen years ago, I interviewed for a job as a 9-1-1 operator in a moderately-sized metropolitan dispatch center. I was just in my early twenties, and had never had a job with such weight or importance. We were trained for all types of emergencies, from those faced while answering 9-1-1 lines, to those we might hear while dispatching responders.

During our classroom training, our instructor played audio tapes (yes, they were on cassette, it was that long ago) of real-life incidents. In one case, an officer was shot and killed while assisting detectives who were serving a warrant. I also heard tapes of a bank robbery that resulted in a pursuit of the suspect. When the suspect opened fire, striking an officer, his K-9 partner attacked as he was trained to do, putting himself in front of the officer. The dog was shot and did not survive. As a brand new dispatcher these were not easy things to hear, but they helped prepare me for the job ahead.

But even that audio couldn’t completely prepare me for the first time I heard that urgency in an officer’s voice while behind the console myself. Imagine your favorite action movie scene, perhaps a chase or stand-off with a dangerous suspect. Then imagine you can’t see the scene, but can only hear it. And that you don’t get all the dialog, but just bursts, blurted updates and urgent requests given over a radio and into your headset. It’s your job to know where they are, send them back up, notify additional resources, such as a police helicopter, an ambulance, crime scene techs, or SWAT. You’ll also be running license plates, entering data into the incident log in the computer, and updating both your supervisors and those of the involved officers.

In Officer Down, Hillary O’Neal is an experienced dispatcher. She’s smart and takes pride her job. She has answered countless 9-1-1 calls, and spent thousands of hours at a dispatch console. She’s good—so good that when things go bad while she’s manning a radio channel, she handles everything exactly as she should. But even her quick action doesn’t prevent a bad outcome, nothing could have and she has a hard time dealing with the result.

While the driving incident in this story is a serious one, I hope I was also able to portray the camaraderie, the challenges and the rewards of my career. In my sixteen years, I have made life-long friendships. I have given life-saving CPR instructions. I have talked to a suicidal person for over fifteen minutes while officers searched for his actual location instead of the one he was giving me. I have managed resources for a twenty minute vehicle pursuit and a five alarm fire (not at the same time). I have even testified in court when a 9-1-1 call was the key piece of evidence in proving guilt. And in between all of the incidents that stand out, there were thousands of routine calls and even some mundane hours monitoring radio channels. Yes, when you’re working the midnight shift and the bars have already closed, there are just a few hours that could be described as mundane.

And now that readers know some of the inspiration for Officer Down, I hope they can feel Hillary’s passion for her job as well as her passion for Olivia Dennis.

https://www.facebook.com/erin.Dutton

@ErinDuttonAuthr

erin@erindutton.com

www.erindutton.com

6 Responses to “Officer in Distress, Code 5000, Ten-thirty-three, Ten-thirteen…”


  1. 1 Tq October 8, 2015 at 11:17 AM

    Great blog. Can’t wait to read it.

    Like

  2. 2 S.A. October 8, 2015 at 3:03 PM

    Kudos to you for sticking with such an important job. I’m curious what the typical burn-out rate is for moderate and large cities which undoubtedly see a lot of different and difficult crimes and emergencies… The book will be all the more interesting since I now know the author has personal knowledge to bring to bear on how dispatch works. I’ve enjoyed your other books, and look forward to reading this one.

    Like

    • 3 Erin Dutton October 8, 2015 at 7:07 PM

      We do have a good amount of turnover, I think that’s typical industry-wide. I would say, though, that most of it happens within the first five years or so. It’s not a 9-to-5 job. Especially for the newer folks. Until you have seniority, it’s evening shift or midnights, hardly any weekends or holidays off. But for those who stick around, you can make a decent career of it.

      And we learn to handle the stress of it. Depending on the time of day, the calls vary, but there’s a good amount of routine, report-type calls, then we have a lot of domestics, assaults, disorderly people, then you get to the level of your robberies, shootings, serious car-wrecks. But even those calls, we learn how to handle them and do our job no matter how hysterical the caller. The really bad ones, the ones that truly stick with us, are more rare.

      Over the years, I’ve known a lot more good dispatchers than I have true burn-outs.

      Like

  3. 4 Devlyn October 8, 2015 at 8:47 PM

    Erin, I think you have done a superb job of depicting the intricacies of working as a dispatcher and the passion required to do the job professionally. I loved the book. The chemistry between Hillary and Olivia is hot, intense and beautiful.

    Like

  4. 5 Linda October 9, 2015 at 2:38 AM

    I intended to buy this book as soon as it got out as I really enjoy your work. Life was busy and somehow I missed it…. Thank you for this blog. Will go read it asap.

    Like

  5. 6 Lee Lynch October 10, 2015 at 5:44 PM

    Thank you, Erin, for the work you do on and off the page.

    Like


Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 2,021 other followers


