Serial Thriller

 

By Cari Hunter

As of a few weeks ago, when my ever-patient wife did some tinkering to my profile on goodreads, I am officially a series writer. Looking back, I suspect I’ve been heading in this direction for a while, but I can’t describe the sense of relief and glee that came with the confirmation from Bold Strokes that, yes, they were happy for me to develop my upcoming June release, No Good Reason, into a series. No Good Reason 300 DPI

Although No Good Reason is my fourth novel, I’d been writing fiction online for years before BSB signed me up, and while it hasn’t always been a case of writing what I know, I have tended to write what I love. My bookshelves are crammed with trilogies and ongoing crime series, while the shelves by our TV are full of box sets: those shows that took the time to create interesting and enduring story arcs that kept me coming back week after week and made me give a damn about their characters. I still get giddy now when I discover a new series, especially if there’s a glut of books or episodes to catch up on and I have the time to devour the lot.

Desolation Point 300 DPIBy the time I finished my second novel, Desolation Point, I’d already decided to write another story featuring its lead characters, Alex and Sarah, not realising that this wasn’t the “done thing”, that authors weren’t supposed to write sequels to standalone romances, no matter how much they wanted to. That sequel, Tumbledown, was theTumbledown 300 DPI start of my series itch, a shift away from the romantic suspense genre and towards police procedural/crime thrillers, a genre more supportive of multi-book arcs. So the Brit-based Dark Peak series – of which No Good Reason is Book One – was born, with a new criminal investigation forming the crux of each book’s plot, but with the same core characters at the heart of everything.

This gave me the confidence to outline a far more extensive background for Sanne Jensen and Meg Fielding, the heroines of the Dark Peak series. For the first time, I chose to create two women who already knew each other well, enabling me to weave a shared history into the novels, to imagine their in-jokes and memories, and to create that comfortable sense of belonging that comes from battling through a deprived childhood and making it out of the shit. Both women have earned their career success – Sanne as a detective with a major crime squad and Meg as a doctor in Accident and Emergency – and the overlap of their professions brings them into close contact at work as well as at home. They’re occasional lovers, best friends and confidants, and their relationship tiptoes along the edge of commitment, thanks to a mutual fear of buggering everything up.

For my shift-addled brain, remembering to put knickers on in a morning can be enough of a stretch, so keeping track of continuity details across two novels has required an extensive series bible, timeline, cast list, and the occasional map. As an avid series fan, I know that there’s nothing more annoying than an author who can’t be bothered getting it right, and that there’s always someone out there who will spot an inconsistency. Fortunately, lists, facts and figures awaken the geek in me, while nothing makes me happier than twisting together plot strands, planting clues, and planning character arcs. Needless to say, I’ve been pretty damn cheerful for the past two years, and I’m keeping my fingers crossed that a few folks out there will join me for the ride.

 

13 Responses to “Serial Thriller”


  1. 1 Mary June 2, 2015 at 10:01 AM

    Love No Good Reason & Sanne & Meg. Why did you have to make Sanne’s name so hard to say? I know it makes for an unforgettable character, but it makes for hard reading. Love it anyway.

    Like

  2. 3 francimcmahon June 2, 2015 at 5:23 PM

    Cari, these look right up my alley. So, I just learned something, the thing about characters not appearing in later books if the first was a ‘stand alone,’ a rule I think I’ve already broken. In fact how many novels are truly stand alone? The lives don’t end because they rode into the sunset, they probably just rode over a hill into a new day. Rules are there to be broken or stretched anyway. Fun blog. You’re on my Kindle list.

    Like

    • 4 Cari Hunter June 3, 2015 at 3:23 AM

      I think a lot of people break this rule, Francis; you do see plenty of lesfic sequels batting around, or characters recurring in later novels. I’m pretty sure that you’re *supposed* to continue a standalone romance (and it’s not the most lucrative thing to do in terms of sales) but it’s done frequently. I hope you enjoy No Good Reason if you get around to reading it.

      Like

      • 5 francimcmahon August 30, 2015 at 12:59 PM

        Sorry it took me so long to wake up this post site. Yes! I thought No Good Reason was very good. Actually talked my ex-girlfriend anti computer…kindle..electronic die-hard into buying a kindle by saying you need to read this on my kindle. She saw the light because your story was so good. Thanks.
        Franci

        Like

  3. 6 treimoir June 2, 2015 at 8:29 PM

    Cari, as I’ve said on numerous occasions, you are one of the most prolific writers to come along in a while. I hope you’re in this for the long haul, because we certainly are. No Good Reason did not disappoint! Awesome book! Congrats ~ Melissa

    Like

  4. 8 Devlyn June 3, 2015 at 7:12 AM

    I would love to join you for the ride. I am always happiest when revisiting characters I have already fallen in love with. Yes, I’m a huge fan of series.

    Like

    • 9 Cari Hunter June 4, 2015 at 6:12 AM

      Me too, Dev (obviously!) We’re having an X-Files rewatch at the moment and it’s amazing how crappy the early episodes are, and how much the show is carried by the chemistry between Mulder and Scully. Everything’s a bit different with hindsight, but the sheer badness of some of those episodes highlights how vital the cast is to the success of a series. Hopefully, I’ve managed to find the balance between a good cast and good plotting in this series. Time will tell!

      Like

  5. 10 S.A. June 4, 2015 at 1:15 PM

    Yes, please, to series! It’s always a treat to be able to follow-up with familiar characters, while getting to know new characters along the way. Looking forward to reading the new book, especially knowing that there will be more to follow.🙂

    Like


  1. 1 Blogs and Reviews Oh My! | Cari Hunter Trackback on June 3, 2015 at 4:43 AM
  2. 2 News Roundup: New Books from Clare Lydon, Jody Klaire & Jade Winters, New Ylva Author A.E. Radley, Events, Blogs, Giveaways, & More! | UK Lesbian Fiction Trackback on June 4, 2015 at 5:53 AM

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 2,021 other followers


