The Power of Love in All Things Rise

By Missouri Vaun

All Things Rise 300 DPIThe inspiration for All Things Rise came about a few years ago when talk of the one percent was everywhere. I was walking through a busy New York City neighborhood when the idea for this book hit me. I was struck by the urban bustle around me. The entire city felt like a monument to consumerism. And while I love my time in NYC, it is a huge contrast to where I live in rural California. Cows and organic farms surround me there.

I also imagined how much money someone needed to live well in Manhattan compared to where I grew up in the Deep South. As I walked down the congested sidewalk I tried to visualize what the world would look like if the one percent stayed on course and economic inequity kept expanding, where would we end up? What would that world look like?

For All Things Rise I imagined one possible trajectory: a future where the one percent (ultra rich) separate from the Earth and live high in the sky, insulated from those less wealthy who remain on the ground. Coastal cities lose to the seas and the populations of the Earth suffer famine and large population die-offs due to contaminated water and disease. Oil has also peaked. In the future I envisioned, the electrical grid and oil powered industry and machines are gone for those on the ground. Sounds like an uplifting tale, right? Well, it actually is, because none of this upheaval takes place in All Things Rise. (Although, thanks to a suggestion from one reader – you know who you are – I’m thinking this would be a fun book to write.) All Things Rise takes place 150 years after this new reality has settled. In a time when those who live above the Earth and those who live on the ground have no contact with each other and haven’t for some time.

I’m a little worried this book will get categorized as science fiction when there’s very little science in it. It’s really about relationships. For those of you who aren’t into science fiction or fantasy, I want to assure you that most of this book takes place on the ground, in the foothills of the Blue Ridge Mountains of northern Georgia. For readers who do like a little sci-fi in their romance novels, I think you’ll be happy, too.

Audrey by Missouri Vaun

Audrey by Missouri Vaun

All Things Rise is about what happens when two people from these different worlds meet, and how everything changes for them. As is often the case in the real world, fundamental change happens in seemingly insignificant ways. Nations, states, and cities rarely deviate from their course collectively. Change comes through the individual, through one person loving another person enough to modify the course of their lives. Whether the issue is sexual identity, race or religion, only through authentic encounters do people really change their perceptions. Eventually, their actions layered upon the actions of others, alter the course of history. In All Things Rise two worlds previously separated begin to overlap, and a great love story unfolds.

Cole by Missouri Vaun

Cole by Missouri Vaun

I think the more personal thread in this story is based on my own experiences. As an adult who grew up in the rural Deep South, I often find myself interacting in business environments with people from mostly urban experiences. Unfortunately, I’ve confronted prejudices in these environments because of my accent or just my general Southern sensibility. Some of these experiences get thrust upon Cole in All Things Rise.

Well, I think I’ll wrap up and let you draw your own conclusions about the book. I hope Cole, Audrey and Ava resonate with readers. I enjoyed getting to know these characters. Now that the book is finished, I find that I miss them greatly.

Ava by Missouri Vaun

Ava by Missouri Vaun

Oh, and one last note, which I also included in the acknowledgements in this first novel. I’d like to send out a special thanks to the original Missouri Vaun, my great-grandmother. I want you to know I have your typewriter and I’m taking good care of it.

 

 

 

 

 

Read an excerpt: http://www.boldstrokesbooks.com/9781626393462.html

Connect with Missouri:

missourivaun.com

Twitter: @missourivaun

Facebook: facebook.com/missourivaun

 

 

12 Responses to “The Power of Love in All Things Rise”


  1. 1 treimoir May 26, 2015 at 9:45 AM

    I’m glad you specifically addressed the sci-fi issue, meaning, when I first got the book, I looked at it and read the synopsis. My first thought was, it’s sci-fi and I’m not going to like it. BUT, the other day I picked it up again and thought, out of respect for Missouri and how much I like her as a person, I’ll read it. Boy was I wrong! It was AWESOME! I really really enjoyed it! READERS – BUY THE BOOK! I don’t like sci-fi or fantasy but this book wasn’t really about that, and what little bit there was, enhanced the story. Again, it’s a great read and I learned a big lesson about not judging a book by it’s cover! Can’t wait for the next one Missouri!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. 3 Beth May 26, 2015 at 11:15 AM

    I’m very glad you clarified the sci-fi aspect of the book. I had looked at it and then bypassed it because it sounded like sci-fi to me and that is not a genre that I’m interested in. Thanks to this blog, I’ve changed my mind.

    Liked by 2 people

  3. 4 Tq May 26, 2015 at 11:16 AM

    This was good info. I agree that it sounded sic-fi (which I also enjoy) but waited to get it until the mood hit me. After reading this blog, I’m starting it today. It sounds very intriguing and I look forward to it.

    Liked by 1 person

  4. 5 Missouri Vaun May 26, 2015 at 12:28 PM

    Thanks, you guys for the comments! I was worried that this book would get too strongly categorized as SciFi… in which case, readers looking for that sort of book might be disappointed. I call it sci-fi-lite. It’s really about the relationships between the three main characters. The fact that it takes place in one possible future is just a backdrop.

    Liked by 1 person

  5. 6 Lynn Lawler May 26, 2015 at 12:42 PM

    Thanks for the review!
    Check out Missouri’s author interview at http://lynnlawler.blogspot.com/2015/02/meet-author-missouri-vaun.html Very interesting woman who you are going to love

    Liked by 1 person

  6. 7 francimcmahon May 26, 2015 at 1:20 PM

    This makes me think strongly of The Midwife’s Tale by Margaret Attwood, a very powerful story about the logical course that environmental degradation takes us. Far from Sci-Fi. I love a story that will take me to a place that is a what-if to the future, one of many possible threads we could take as a society.
    The result of all this talk? You have intrigued me, Missouri.

    Liked by 2 people

  7. 8 vkpowell May 26, 2015 at 3:55 PM

    Great book and it’s all about relationships! Really enjoyed it.

    Liked by 2 people

  8. 9 Missouri Vaun May 26, 2015 at 4:32 PM

    Reblogged this on Missouri Vaun and commented:
    Here’s more on my novel, All Things Rise, a lesbian romance with some sci-fi lite now out through Bold Strokes Books. It’s really about the relationships between the three main characters. Can’t wait to hear what you think.

    Like

  9. 10 Kate May 26, 2015 at 6:39 PM

    I think the synopsis of the book sounds good. I am especially happy about the drawings of the main characters you added to the blog, though. It makes me feel like I’ve already met them, and now I need to learn their story.

    Like

  10. 11 Devlyn May 26, 2015 at 9:19 PM

    Thanks for some more back story and your thoughts. All Things Rise is next on my reading list and I am really looking forward to reading about Cole, Audrey and Ava.

    Liked by 1 person

  11. 12 S.A. May 27, 2015 at 9:32 AM

    Congrats on the book! The story sounds interesting, and I love that you included art of the primary characters in this blog. Looking forward to reading it!

    Like


Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 2,021 other followers


