Playing With Some Familiar Faces

By Lesley Davis

 

In March I picked up a new game to play. I had been waiting for it since they announced the release of the PS4 console and it was top of my list of games I had to have. When it was finally released I immediately got my copy, sat down and began to play. It looked great, had a fantastic story set in Victorian England with gruesome monsters and awesome weapons but the game play was awful and the characters were incredibly boring. I was taking them through the levels but I wasn’t really invested in their lives. They just didn’t make me care enough what happened to them. I completed it but now it’s back in the box never to be returned to. That’s so disappointing because I invested time into the story but it gave me nothing back in return. Yet there’s another game I have played and completed ages ago, and I can’t stop keep going back into it because it means something to me. I love the game play, I love the locations, (nothing beats climbing the Space Needle and then wrecking it with your superpowers!) and I am invested in the characters, each and every one of them, good guy or bad. They keep me returning to play with them again and again because the time I spend with them in that world is fascinating and time well spent. I love them, I love their story, and I can lose myself in their world.

Reading is like that for me too. There are characters that I like to go back to and re-read their story to experience all the highs and lows they went through to reach their happy ending. Writing my own stories, there are some characters that once I have finished their story I can sit back and bid them farewell for a while, knowing that their story has been told. Then there are others that, as soon as I am done, they are already telling me what they want to do next. When I finished “Playing Passion’s Game”BSB_Playing_Passions_Game_3ds Trent was already whispering in my ear that the nursery needed an occupant so I knew these characters would be back sooner, rather than later. And the amazing feedback I received from my readers only added to that knowledge. They wanted to go back to that world as much as I did.

 

Playing in Shadow 300 DPI“Playing In Shadow”, published by Bold Strokes and out this April, tells the story of Bryce who is the only survivor of a terrible car crash. She bears the scars of that trauma both inside and out. She meets Scarlet who has her own problems. Should she follow in her father’s footsteps as he expects her to or step away and follow her own path? What was fun for me about bringing this story to life was knowing that these two new characters were going to interact with a few familiar faces. Trent and Juliet are back, Elton and Monica, and young Kayleigh. I loved weaving these known characters into the lives of the new ladies whose story is being revealed. As someone who writes the kind of stories I want to read myself, I love Trent to pieces. She’s one of my favourite characters I have created and I have so much more to share about her. So while romance weaves it spell around Bryce and Scarlet, Trent and Juliet will be preparing for motherhood. And as you can imagine, with these characters, it’s not going to be all boring bibs and baby grows! Being someone who personally has never, EVER, wanted children of her own, I have had the most fun writing the experience for Trent. And now Bryce, being new to the fold, is going to see what kind of awesome family this group of gamers and Goths can be.

For Trent’s loyal fans, she and her family will be back in future tales. Their story is nowhere near finished because I’m invested in these characters, their stories, and their world. They keep drawing me back to play. As for Scarlet and Bryce, in “Playing In Shadow”, their story is just beginning! I hope you all enjoy it.

14 Responses to “Playing With Some Familiar Faces”


  1. 1 Annie Ellis April 14, 2015 at 11:08 AM

    Hey Lesley, we may not share common ground with game play but we most certainly do with reading material.
    I love Trent and Juliette and their extended family to bits. The love and humour in these stories is amazing and I shall be returning to visit them for many years to come.
    Thank you so much for the pleasure of their company.
    Game on mate.

    Like

    • 2 Lesley Davis April 14, 2015 at 11:23 AM

      LOL, Annie! There is room in Trent’s (and mine!) clan for gamers no matter what they play! Thank you for your endless support and love for these characters. I appreciate that so very much and it only makes me want to write them more…so that’s an epic win for both of us!! Game on, my friend.

      Like

  2. 3 Janna April 14, 2015 at 11:11 AM

    This is awesome news! I’m looking forward to both stories. I’ve had Playing in Shadow on my list of books to buy since I first read about it, and Playing Passion’s Game is a favorite of mine. I’ve read it many times🙂

    Like

  3. 4 Lesley Davis April 14, 2015 at 11:18 AM

    Thank you Janna, I hope you’ll enjoy “Playing In Shadow” when you get it. So happy to hear that “Playing Passion’s Game” get a re-read too! Thanks for all your support! Happy reading!😀

    Like

  4. 5 Dorinda Depp April 14, 2015 at 2:08 PM

    Have been enjoying all of your books and already ordered this one. Am looking forward to it

    Like

  5. 7 Devlyn April 14, 2015 at 8:10 PM

    Enjoy it? I flipping loved it! Lesley this is an awesome tale of some new and not so new characters and I think you have shown to us all that these characters have a heck of a lot of story left in them yet. Kudos on a job well done.

    Like

    • 8 Lesley Davis April 15, 2015 at 8:16 AM

      Thank you Devlyn, I appreciate that. And you just know I am not letting any of these characters fade away anytime soon!! While there are new games to be played, Trent will be there! ;D So very happy that you enjoyed the story. That makes my day!

      Like

  6. 9 S.A. April 15, 2015 at 10:50 AM

    Yay for sequels!! I love when “old favorites” merge with stories following new characters (who, if the story arc goes long enough, will in turn also become “old favorites”). I’ve enjoyed your other books to date, and am looking forward to this one. Cheers!

    Like

  7. 11 kathleenknowles April 17, 2015 at 4:13 PM

    Delete the last email from me. I didn’t send it

    Kathleen Knowles Author Awake Unto Me (2012) Forsaking All Others (2013) A Spark of Heavenly Fire (2014) Warm November coming August 2015

    Date: Tue, 14 Apr 2015 12:02:59 +0000 To: kathy-sophia@hotmail.com

    Like

  8. 12 I Beacham April 18, 2015 at 1:24 PM

    Bravo on the new book. Looking forward to reading it!

    Like


  1. 1 News roundup: Goldie shortlists, a lot of blogging, new books and events! | UK Lesbian Fiction Trackback on April 25, 2015 at 4:23 AM

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 2,022 other followers


