No Pedals, No Metal

By Jesse Thoma

When I was a kid my dad and I would have “action movie Tuesday”. My mom had board meetings on Tuesday nights, so we would rent movies we knew she would have no interest in. The only criteria was that something had to blow up, it had to take place in outer space, or intrigue, national security and/or espionage was involved in some way. If superhero movies were as big back then as they are now, I would have insisted we watch every Marvel movie on repeat. To this day they are my favorite escape.

When I wrote The Chasebsb_the_chase_small__66063 I used similar criteria insofar as I knew I wanted there to be lots of action and I wanted it to be fun. I also knew I wanted there to be a sequel. Even at the beginning of my storytelling, when I was just meeting Holt Lasher and Isabelle Rochat and the rest of the gang, I knew their story was not one that could be told in a single book. But wanting to write a sequel and having a good plot to fill a second book are entirely different things.

Luckily for me, a few years ago my car was stolen and Pedal to the Metal Pedal to the Metal 300 DPIcame into being. To be clear, I saw nothing lucky about the situation at the time. My wife and I had gotten married less than a week prior, had returned from our honeymoon less than 48 hours earlier, and were up at an ungodly early hour that morning waiting for movers to take all of our earthly possessions off to our new home to enjoy wedded bliss. Instead I resisted the urge to run down our street in my boxers (coffee had been a greater priority than pants that morning) looking for my car, which was long gone, and had a morning date with a Providence police officer (pants were a priority at that point).

Sadly, there was no happy ending for my little Acura Integra. Holt, or Isabelle, did not swoop in to save the day (too bad). Dubs had not taken my car for a joy ride with Max (they would have had fun, it was a great car). The only explosions were me losing my temper a time or two with the insurance company. But, as my wife and I stared at the shell of my poor car after they found it, with no engine or sellable part left, full of beer cans, and inexplicably the creepiest doll I’ve ever seen, she looked at me and said “this would make a great story. You should write about it.” And so I did.

5 Responses to “No Pedals, No Metal”


  1. 1 Gail Pringle February 17, 2015 at 11:00 AM

    Loved all your books. You’ve obviously got a wicked sense of humour!!!! The greatest asset a person could have.
    Keep writing and I’ll keep reading.

    Like

  2. 2 S.A. February 17, 2015 at 5:04 PM

    Well, I’m glad there was a silver lining, although I’m sorry you had to go through all of that on the heels of a wonderful life milestone. Cheers for making lemonade out of lemons, and congrats on the new book!

    Like

  3. 3 Devlyn February 17, 2015 at 5:06 PM

    Sorry to hear about your beloved car it is always distressing when someone takes something of yours. I am glad your muse was able to point you in the right direction and suggest a story and look forward to reading it.

    Like

  4. 4 Widdershins February 17, 2015 at 8:06 PM

    My ex-GF (way back when) and I would see every Arnie movie just for the ham and ‘splosions!🙂

    Like

  5. 5 Jesse Thoma February 26, 2015 at 12:25 PM

    Thanks for the replies. I hope you enjoy Pedal to the Metal. I certainly enjoyed writing it!

    Like


Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 2,022 other followers


