Dreaming of Dragon Horses

By D. Jackson Leigh 

There was no explanation for it.

I dreamed of dragons three times in the same week. Weird, I thought. I hadn’t seen dragons on television or a movie recently. It’d been decades since I’d read Anne McCaffrey’s dragon books. I couldn’t remember the details of the dreams, only that they involved dragons.

Now, I’m not superstitious about dreams or much of anything else, but who am I to say it wasn’t a cosmic nudge? Besides, I’d been wanting to stretch my writing wings a bit and I’ve been a life-long fan of the fantasy genre. I’ve always loved the good vs. evil, the adventure, bravery and the romantic idealism of fantasy.

I couldn’t abandon my trademark horses, however, so my dream dragons became horses that transform at dusk into fire-breathing winged dragon-horse hybrids. I only needed to find a purpose for my dragon horses.

I’m not a religious or spiritual person, but I’m definitely not an atheist. I don’t believe we’re just a bunch neurons that stop working at some point. I’m sure there are things such as souls, ghosts, an afterlife, possibly reincarnation, hopefully no judgment, and very doubtfully a segregated heaven and hell. I just don’t worry about it. I figure whatever awaits will be no matter what I believe or don’t believe. The safe road, I decided long ago, is just to treat others as I would like them to treat me, and hope for the best ending.

I do worry, however, about how mean-spirited and divided our world has become. The worst dividing lines, in my estimation, are race, religion and politics. The tools used to shove us into these groups, for the most part, are wealth and fear.

So, how does this relate to dragon horses?

The fantasy genre is almost always used as a metaphoric allusion to some social issue. So, I decided to explore my concerns in my story–a trilogy, actually. Because aren’t all good fantasies a trilogy? Thus, “The Calling” is the first in the “Dragon Horse War” series.Dragon Horse War The Calling 300 DPI

My fantasy world isn’t full of brilliant allusions, but it is complicated.

The trouble we’re experiencing now between Christians and Muslims escalates into a massive world war. In the end, the great religions are extinguished and a new era of thought rises up that celebrates diversity and differences. A world government is established that abolishes guns and fossil fuel.  Resources that were previously hoarded and traded by competing nations are equally shared. Basic education, food and clothing is free for every person in every corner of the earth. No citizen is oppressed because of their gender, age, skin color or cultural background. 

It’s not  a perfect world. While there is overall peace, the character of mankind still struggles with jealousy, greed, addictions, domestic problems and other disputes that go along with imperfect human nature. People still work for luxury credits, so some are richer than others. Not all diseases have been cured. And, there are still natural disasters.

In fact, an unusual alignment of the planets causes a spate of natural disasters that give rise to The Natural Order, a cult led by a madman who seeks to take control of the world’s food supply when resources fall dangerously low.

In “The Calling,” the good guys are very sure of their righteous mission to extinguish the cult. But when I said earlier that I set out to explore my concerns, I meant it. As I write this blog for the release of the first Dragon Horse War book, I’m half way through the writing of the second installment and my characters are already finding out there are lessons to be learned by everyone, not just the bad guys.

I’ve always written my romance novels according to an outline, but this series has taken wings, and the characters are flying places I had never imagined in the beginning. Good places. Exciting places.

And, even if you don’t care about the shallow allusions behind the story, “Dragon Horse War: The Calling” is still a D.Jackson Leigh romance (because I’m a hopeless romantic) with fiery battle scenes and a bit of intrigue. At the very least, you’ll hopefully be entertained. At best, perhaps you’ll take JRR Tolkien’s advice to “suspend disbelief” so that you can soar with me on dragon wings and briefly touch the stars.

Enjoy the Ride

D. Jackson Leigh

P.S. Don’t forget to leave a comment to win an autographed copy of “Dragon Horse War: The Calling.”

25 Responses to “Dreaming of Dragon Horses”


  1. 1 vkpowell February 3, 2015 at 9:27 AM

    Loved hearing the inspiration for your trilogy. And the first one is fantastic! Keep ’em coming.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. 2 djacksonleigh February 3, 2015 at 10:09 AM

    Reblogged this on D.Jackson Leigh and commented:
    Hey, check out my blog on what made me depart from my usual romance genre and try my hand at writing fantasy.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. 3 vera February 3, 2015 at 10:25 AM

    so looking forward to this,but i’ll wait a few days more,maybe i’ll win😉

    Like

  4. 4 mebuchanan February 3, 2015 at 11:57 AM

    Love your dragon horses, Deb. They are worthy cousins to the Dragons of Pern.

    Liked by 1 person

  5. 5 Ann Etter February 3, 2015 at 12:39 PM

    Sounds like a fun read! I would love to win a copy.

    Liked by 1 person

  6. 6 missourivaun February 3, 2015 at 12:48 PM

    Great blog. I love hearing the origin stories of how ideas happen🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  7. 7 S.A. February 3, 2015 at 1:02 PM

    Thanks for the blog! I love your other books (the Cherokee Falls set especially), and am looking forward to this one. (And it’s the first of a trilogy, yippee! And yes, all good fantasy stories come in trilogies…) This teaser has further whetted my appetite.🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  8. 8 Dawn February 3, 2015 at 1:28 PM

    Very interesting blog, can’t wait to read this!

    Liked by 1 person

  9. 9 Clifford Henderson February 3, 2015 at 2:03 PM

    Fun! Love the sound of your characters flying to places you never dreamed. Looking forward to seeing the new incarnation.

    Liked by 1 person

  10. 10 Ann Etter February 3, 2015 at 2:59 PM

    Love your books- looking forward to reading this one! I didn’t see it on Kobo yet- and maybe I’ll win a copy🙂. It’s fun to see how you came up with the idea for it.

    Liked by 1 person

  11. 11 Widdershins February 3, 2015 at 5:15 PM

    Fascinating concept, horses morphing into dragons.🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  12. 13 Wendy Levy February 3, 2015 at 6:28 PM

    My horses turn into dragons at the drop of a hat; now that they have learnt that if they turn side on wearing their rugs (it’s below zero at night here in the west of England) they can push through the electric fence with impunity and fly off anywhere they can find greenery!
    I have all your books to date and look forward to these 3!
    Wendy

    Liked by 1 person

    • 14 djacksonleigh February 3, 2015 at 11:20 PM

      That’s funny, Wendy. My dragon horses are fairly well behaved in the first book, but misbehave a good bit in the second book that I’m currently writing. I had an Arab who wouldn’t even step over an electric wire if it was lying on the ground, but I also had a big pony who would push right through the electric fence when he was wearing his winter rug. (we call them blankets).

      Like

  13. 15 Devlyn February 3, 2015 at 6:52 PM

    Deb, thanks for your blog. To be honest I was confused about Dragon Horses and had no idea what to expect. Thanks to this blog and a few comments here and there from other readers, I am excited to be able to read this book. Being part of a trilogy is an added bonus.

    Liked by 1 person

  14. 17 Mardi February 3, 2015 at 9:50 PM

    I loved reading the blog and the concepts behind the story. I cheerfully now have a new “must have” added to my ‘to read’ list. Thanks heaps for sharing and inspiring me to read further afield.

    Liked by 1 person

  15. 18 Michelle February 3, 2015 at 10:13 PM

    Sounds awesome..hopefully I will win a copy.

    Liked by 1 person

  16. 19 Michelle February 4, 2015 at 6:04 AM

    You must have some imagination…wow. I’m not normally a fantasy book reader, but you’ve got me well curious now. Looking forward to reading it.

    Liked by 1 person

  17. 20 Lisa T. February 4, 2015 at 11:45 AM

    I enjoyed reading about the inspiration for your fantasy novels. I’m definitely interested in reading the Dragon Horse War: The Calling!

    Liked by 1 person

  18. 21 kejaeck February 4, 2015 at 3:27 PM

    Great blog; I’m totally in agreement with your thoughts on religion. Got the e-book, and will read it hopefully on the plane home from Africa. So glad you expanded into the fantasy genre, as it’s my one of my favorites!

    Liked by 1 person

  19. 22 Sarah Kerry February 4, 2015 at 4:38 PM

    Thanks for the blog and for telling how you came up with the story for your new book. Sounds really good so please count me in for a copy.
    Thank you xx

    Liked by 1 person

  20. 23 solargrrl February 6, 2015 at 8:54 AM

    Looks like a fascinating trilogy! Good luck with the characters taking you under their wings for a soaring journey.

    Like

  21. 24 djacksonleigh February 8, 2015 at 8:22 PM

    Okay, after some confusion and several eaten pieces of paper, JT, boss terrier at my house picked a winner …. drumroll of hooves …. Widdershins. Contact me on facebook or at author@djacksonleigh.com to let me know how to sign your book (to who specifically) and where to send it.

    If you didn’t win, you’ve got another chance if you hop over to Women and Words at http://womenwords.org/2015/02/08/those-darn-dragon-horses-by-d-jackson-leigh/ and read a second blog that gives more details on my mythical dragon horses. Good Luck!

    Like


  1. 1 What do you do with a lovesick dragon horse? | Bold Strokes Books Authors' Blog Trackback on February 9, 2016 at 8:07 AM

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 612 other followers


