Let’s Win an Oscar Next

By Barbara Ann Wright

Just in time for awards season, I bring you The Fiend QueenThe Fiend Queen 300 DPI!

Just kidding. I didn’t realize it would be coming out just after the holidays when I turned it in, let alone anywhere near awards season. And since televised awards have absolutely nothing to do with books that weren’t made into TV shows or movies, I’m pretty much out of luck all the way around.

But let’s pretend… Kerry Washington is getting out of her limo. There’s Tina Fey and Amy Poehler. Julia, Meryl, Mindy, Charlize, Sophia, and Jada. They’re all here. And me, to accept the award for finishing a freakin’ fantasy series when I never dreamed I would.

Nearly a year ago, I wrote about what it was like to finish writing the series that started with The Pyramid Waltz.Th Pyramid Waltz 300 DPI I speculated on how I might feel, and I’m not ashamed to say, I was completely wrong.

I thought I’d be nervous, but I feel pretty good, very thankful. I’m thankful to everybody who stuck with me, all the readers who cared enough about Katya and Starbride to want to read to the very end. I’m thankful to BSB for taking a chance on me and all the family and friends who supported and encouraged me.

“Time to play you off stage?” you ask. “Because the thanking seems to be flowing pretty thickly.” No, so don’t cue the music just yet. I promise, you won’t have to listen to me drone on forever when you’d rather the camera be lingering on Jennifer Lawrence.

When I first tried to get published, I worried that it would never happen. I didn’t really let myself think of what it would be like to someday publish an entire series. Even now that The Fiend Queen is finally here, I can hardly believe it. It’s a group effort that still feels so personal. It’s unlike anything I could have imagined.

I’ve learned a lot. I’m much more sanguine about reviews. I won’t ever please everyone. I’m much better at budgeting my time. I write much faster. Plots fall more easily into place. I’ve won a couple of awards, but I’m not crushed when I don’t.

Which is why just finishing this series feels like an award, and for everyone who has stuck with me, if I could, I’d give you a trophy. Thank you, thank you, a million times, thank you.

Okay, put the camera back on Penelope Cruz, or any of the lovely, glittery ladies you came to see. Thanks for coming. You’ haven’t seen the last of me.

p.s. I’m doing a giveaway! You can win your very own e-copy of The Fiend Queen. Leave a comment here or on my blog https://barbaraannwright.wordpress.com/ and you’ll be entered to win! I’ll announce the winner on my blog next week, so stay tuned.

24 Responses to “Let’s Win an Oscar Next”


  1. 1 Widdershins January 6, 2015 at 11:09 AM

    Jennifer Lawrence? Where? Did she trip again?🙂
    Count me in!

    Like

  2. 3 francimcmahon January 6, 2015 at 11:14 AM

    Enjoyed your blog. I must admit I’ve not read much in the fantasy line, however I saw Ursula LeGuin giving her acceptance speech at the National Book Awards gala and she made me think about that particular snobbery. It is the sort of thing that Lonesome Dove did for Westerns. That realization that we’ve written off an entire genre, so the moral of this story is, it is time I got my feet wet. Thanks for your series.
    Franci

    Like

  3. 5 Tami January 6, 2015 at 12:36 PM

    I would like to read this…please enter me in your drawing!

    Like

  4. 7 Sheri Campbell January 6, 2015 at 12:42 PM

    Barbara Ann, a neat twist from the usual blogs. Just like you funny lady. Well done here. Looking forward to seeing you in Austin at the Lone Star Festival or at our Jewel Book Club in Dallas. Looking forward to reading Fiend Queen..in ebook mobi fashion. Keep reading and writing my friend.

    Like

  5. 9 Henriette January 6, 2015 at 1:01 PM

    thanks for this blog

    Like

  6. 11 S.A. January 6, 2015 at 2:02 PM

    Congrats not only the most recent book, but for completion of the series to which it belongs! I’ve had my eye on these stories to read, and now that the set is complete, I’m eager to dive in.🙂 Big accomplishment; other bloggers have written about how difficult writing a series can be. What a nice way to start your new year!

    Like

  7. 13 Devlyn January 6, 2015 at 7:03 PM

    What a wonderful blog, I look forward to reading the series when the last one comes out.

    Like

  8. 15 Dorinda Depp January 6, 2015 at 11:20 PM

    Have enjoyed the series so far. Already ordered the new book and am looking forward to reading it

    Like

  9. 17 sequimmorgayne January 7, 2015 at 9:23 AM

    Congrats on completing this book of the series. Well done you!

    Like

  10. 19 Bea Cruz January 7, 2015 at 2:03 PM

    cant wait to read the series!!

    Like

  11. 20 kejaeck January 7, 2015 at 5:26 PM

    Love the series. Looking forward to the Fiend Queen!

    Like

  12. 22 Nic January 8, 2015 at 4:17 PM

    Thank you for writing this series! I’ve been buying since the 1st book, and it’s absolutely amazing to have reached the final conclusion of the series. I really hope we won’t be seeing the last of you anytime soon, great author!

    Like


  1. 1 Blogging hard for the money | Barbara Ann Wright Trackback on January 6, 2015 at 9:51 AM

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 2,031 other followers


