Mom’s Version

By C.A. Popovich

Edge of Awareness 300 DPI

My ninety-one year old mother was excited for me when I told her that Bold Strokes Books had accepted my first novel, Edge of Awareness, for publication. She, being my greatest fan, wanted to read it immediately. I told her that it had to go through an editing process, and it would be a few months before it was printed. It didn’t matter to her. She wanted to read it now.

My mom loves romance novels. She’s probably read every Harlequin romance ever printed. Edge of Awareness is a romance. A lesbian romance. I wasn’t too worried that she wouldn’t like my romance novel, but as I said, it’s a lesbian romance; with a lesbian sex scene.

So, I revised the manuscript and saved it as the “Mom version.” Out came the sex scene and an extensive word search removed a number of four letter words, especially the one beginning with f. Then I signed it, gave it to her to read, and waited.

She liked it. She told me that I “had a good imagination.”

In August 2014, I inscribed a paperback copy of my published novel for my mother, gave it to her, and waited.

She loved it. She complimented me again on my imagination and then told me that she was happy to learn what two lesbians did together. She also divulged her amazement that “they had the same feelings as a man and woman together.”

I wonder if other authors of lesbian romance create a “mom version” of their work. I’m happy to report that I never will again. I suppose she could have said she liked the story, or the characters, but her last statement will bring tears of joy to my eyes every time I think of it.

11 Responses to “Mom’s Version”


  1. 1 Elaine December 2, 2014 at 10:50 AM

    Glad it worked out for you! I don’t have a mom to worry about reading my stuff, but thinking about my mother-in-law reading it gives me pause. Then again, I’m reading a novel she loved that has some fairly graphic het sex scenes (more than I want to imagine at least). So if she can handle that, I suppose she can handle mine. But still…

    Like

  2. 2 Diane December 2, 2014 at 2:21 PM

    That is awesome congrats

    Sent from my iPhone

    >

    Like

  3. 3 Just me...Joni December 2, 2014 at 7:18 PM

    Mom’s are awfully good at figuring things out!

    Like

  4. 4 Widdershins December 2, 2014 at 11:54 PM

    Editing ourselves or our work for someone else never really works out does it?

    Like

  5. 5 Svetla (Czech fan of English lesfic) December 3, 2014 at 3:24 AM

    Your mom is great!

    Like

  6. 6 S.A. December 3, 2014 at 11:00 AM

    Cheers to your mom for “surviving” the unedited version.😉 Glad to hear she enjoyed it, and I’m looking forward to reading the book myself.

    Like

  7. 7 Aurora Rey December 3, 2014 at 1:00 PM

    I hadn’t contemplated a “mom version,” but I am now!

    Like

  8. 8 Dorinda Depp December 4, 2014 at 1:19 PM

    Wonderful reaction from a terrific Mom. Dorinda

    Like

  9. 9 Carol December 7, 2014 at 8:48 AM

    Thank you all for your comments. Yeah, my mom is special. My second novel is a bit more graphic, so I’m a little nervous about a no “Mom version.”

    Like

  10. 10 Bobbi December 7, 2014 at 8:40 PM

    Our mom’s are the same age. They have both come along way due to the courage of their daughters and other lesbians expressing our truth.
    (She’ll probably read the sex scenes first in your second novel.) lol

    Like

  11. 11 Andrea December 9, 2014 at 7:29 PM

    I guess we’re never too old to learn, are we? Go, Mom!

    Like


Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 2,021 other followers


