Castle in the Clouds

By Sheri Lewis Wohl

Pacific Ocean

Pacific Ocean

 

I would like to say I’m your average, normal person. Lord knows I’ve tried. I’ve raised a family, worked in the same job for over two decades, volunteered in my community, and tried to be good and kind. For the most part, I think I succeeded. It’s just the normal part I keep tripping up on. If you’ve read any of my books, you’ve probably got an idea of what I mean. Few, if any, who know me well would use Sheri and normal in the same sentence!

Take writing, for example, I’ve tried to write straight-forward books filled with danger and intrigue. Oh, I get the danger and intrigue all right but something else always creeps in: the paranormal. It doesn’t matter how I start out. It doesn’t matter what my intentions are. Each and every time here comes a ghost, a vampire, a werewolf, and many others of preternatural ilk. I can try not to write paranormal and I fail miserably. Perhaps it’s a little like Carl Sagan once said: “Imagination will often carry us to worlds that never were. But without it we go nowhere.” Take away my preternatural characters and suddenly, I’m nowhere.

Becoming yourself. Finding your voice. Embracing what and who you are is a difficult thing. It’s taken me a very long time to look in the mirror and like who I see. It’s taken me just as long to find peace with my artistic endeavors. Fear is a terrible thing and I lived it for so very long. Not a single day more. Though I know it was a process years in the making it seems as though I simply woke up one day and was comfortable in my own skin. I didn’t have to compete with anyone. Didn’t have to be younger, prettier, more talented. I didn’t have to be normal! Some people will like me. Some people will not. Some people will like my work. Some people will not. And, it’s all okay. I have found my place and though it’s miles away from what many consider normal, it is my space to imagine the impossible, dance like no one’s looking, and stand on center stage to perform.

As Gilbert K. Chesterton said, “There are no rules of architecture for a castle in the clouds.” In Twisted EchoesTwisted_Echoes_300_DPI it’s more a castle on the ocean shores but the sentiment is still the same. On a road trip a few years back I stood alongside the highway staring out at the mighty Pacific Ocean and I could see it all in my head: The house, the ghosts, the psychic. Did anyone else with me see those images? Nope, not a single one. It didn’t matter a bit for I was building my castle in the clouds that blustery day and you can count on me to keep doing just that.

6 Responses to “Castle in the Clouds”


  1. 1 Connie November 4, 2014 at 9:42 AM

    Love it Sheri & you too. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  2. 2 sherilewiswohl November 4, 2014 at 9:49 PM

    Thanks, Connie/ Love you too!!

    Like

  3. 3 joey B November 5, 2014 at 3:12 PM

    I myself often miss those castles because I’m so busy looking at the clouds.🙂 My train of thought often mimics that of billowing clouds. I look forward to reading Twisted Echoes.

    Like

  4. 4 S.A. November 6, 2014 at 9:40 AM

    Wonderful blog, thanks for sharing! I’m glad you’ve found your place to “imagine the impossible, dance like no one’s looking, and stand on center stage to perform.” I’ve enjoyed your other books and am looking forward to reading this new one.

    Like

  5. 6 Devlyn November 6, 2014 at 8:23 PM

    Sheri, I’m glad you ‘see’ the things you do and even more happy that you write about it.

    Like


Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 2,021 other followers


