What’s in a name?

BY C.A. Popovich

 

I started my first serious venture into writing romantic lesbian fiction with short stories, and I wrote them as Carol P. When I finished writing my first novel, Edge of Awareness, Edge of Awareness 300 DPII pondered the author name I would use. It would be, after all, forever and always on the cover of this and subsequent books.

I made up different pseudonyms and asked other authors why they chose the name they did. I contemplated using a fictitious name with two syllables. Then I came up with one with three syllables and one with four. I thought of the names of all the talented Bold Strokes Books authors, and I fretted. I searched the BSB Website for any that had five syllables and determined I might be all right.

I decided that I would just use my real name. It has been my name since I was a year and a half old. My last name came from my now deceased, father, whom I loved and respected. My parents were Jugoslavian immigrants after World War II and became citizens shortly after settling in Michigan. Their story is one of courage and perseverance, and I’m proud to be their daughter.

My first name came with me when I was adopted, and my parents chose not to change it. I considered using my birth name to write under, which would have been only four syllables. It’s pretty much all I know of my birth parents, other than that they were married, and my birth father died before I was born. I also know that they had other children. I had two male siblings and one female sibling. I don’t know their names, but I know mine.

I have yet to set up a a website, but you can contact me at capopovichfiction@aol.com and on facebook at CA Popovich.

Twitter: C.A. Popovich

8 Responses to “What’s in a name?”


  1. 1 Devlyn September 16, 2014 at 8:45 AM

    WOW, who would think it would be so hard to pick a name but then I never thought about it that much. Im glad you have found a name you are happy with and I think it has a nice ring to it. Im looking forward to reading your first book.

    Like

  2. 2 Teri September 16, 2014 at 11:07 AM

    I am struggling with the very same thing right now. It is helpful to see your process. Thank you for sharing.

    Like

  3. 3 S.A. September 16, 2014 at 3:10 PM

    Congrats on your new book, and on deciding to use your own name when putting it out there for the world to see. I’m sure that’s both exciting and scary for you as the author. Looking forward to reading the story!

    Like

  4. 4 Dorinda Depp September 16, 2014 at 4:06 PM

    Hi Carol, congrats on the book. Waiting to buy it in P-town so you can sign it. Dorinda

    Liked by 1 person

  5. 5 Bobbi Spiegler September 16, 2014 at 6:05 PM

    Good for you C.A. Takes courage. You fan forever:
    bobbi ann

    Like

  6. 6 Lee Lynch September 17, 2014 at 12:43 AM

    I really appreciate lesbian writers using their real names when circumstances allow. Thank you, C.A. Popovich. Let’s be proud every chance we have.

    Like

  7. 7 Kim Frierson September 17, 2014 at 8:39 AM

    Thanks for telling your story. I think you got the name just right!

    Like


  1. 1 Did you catch this? | Women and Words Trackback on October 11, 2014 at 2:37 PM

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 2,021 other followers


