Publishers Weekly. Really?

By VK Powell

 

 

Publishers Weekly reviewed my new release, About Face,About Face 300 DPI in their June 16th edition. The review stated in part: “Powell (Exit Wounds) excels at depicting complex, emotionally vulnerable characters who connect in a believable fashion and enjoy some genuinely hot erotic moments.” To say I was surprised and excited would be a gross understatement because About Face was a slight deviation from my normal fare and I was unsure how it would be received.

 

I write predominately lesbian romantic intrigue and if I had to state my brand, it would be you can have it all—career, love, and happiness. My stories involve law enforcement officers fighting crime while trying to establish or maintain a relationship—no easy task. My second book, Suspect Passions, fell into the pure romance genre, so I decided book seven, About Face, would as well. While there are elements of suspense and/or mystery in both, they are heavy on romance, light on intrigue.

 

Why the change? I love writing intrigue. Developing characters with grit and drive, putting them into impossible situations, and forcing them to change for the sake of romance are my things, but every now and then a girl just needs to feel the love, plain and simple.

 

In About Face, reclusive forensic artist, Macy Sheridan, agrees to work one final case she hopes will solve the mystery that’s haunted her for years. The only things blocking her goal are a perfect facial reconstruction and Detective Leigh Monroe, a woman who reminds her of the past and challenges her future.

 

Leigh Monroe has lost her lover, her livelihood, and her home but she chooses to look on the bright side. What else could go wrong—then she meets rude, solitary Macy Sheridan. But Leigh discovers that Macy’s façade is a mask, yet as real and untouchable as the forensic reconstructions she so meticulously creates.

 

Macy’s last case brings the two women together in a tango of distrust and desire. When the truth finally comes out, it looks like their chance at love will be lost forever.

 

I hope you will like reading About Face, my romance-heavy, intrigue-lite offering, as much as I enjoyed writing it. Please let me know. Your feedback is an important part of my process.

 

 

VK Powell

vk@vkpowellauthor.com

Website:http://www.vkpowellauthor.com

13 Responses to “Publishers Weekly. Really?”


  1. 1 missourivaun August 26, 2014 at 9:09 AM

    Yay!! Many congrats!!

    Like

  2. 3 S.A. August 26, 2014 at 9:33 AM

    Congrats on the PW review and on the latest novel. I’m looking forward to reading it.🙂

    Like

  3. 5 Mary August 26, 2014 at 11:40 AM

    Congrats on the review. Loved the book. Time to read it again.

    Like

  4. 7 Devlyn August 26, 2014 at 9:30 PM

    I am currently reading About Face and I can attest to it being a superb romance. It is all VK says and more. If I wasn’t so tired I would still be reading but alas I must sleep now.

    Like

  5. 9 Kim August 27, 2014 at 6:56 AM

    Sitting on my Ipad and can’t wait to start it this evening on my trip home. I’d start it during the day if I didn’t have to pay attention to that darn customer. Looking forward to another great book!

    Like

  6. 11 Laurie Rikke August 27, 2014 at 11:48 PM

    Loving it so far!

    Like


  1. 1 The Haps | Women and Words Trackback on September 7, 2014 at 11:05 AM

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 2,021 other followers


