Invention

BY DAVID HOLLY

The Raptures of Time, The Raptures of Time 300 DPImy latest novel from Bold Strokes Books, is coming out this month. In Raptures, my storyteller Mack and his friends explore a geologically impossible cave and emerge lost on another world. In the otherworldly realm of Qysteria, they explore cultures unlike our own with odd traditions and kinky sexual rituals.

 

The action shifts between the gynocratic customs of Qysteria and the societies of our Earth, past, present, and future. On Qysteria, villagers demand that the guys participate in gay sex rituals or subject them to sex slavery. In between participating in deliriously erotic acts, Mack and his friends must avoid outlandish creatures and a malevolent sorcerer from Earth’s future. While our Earth moves toward the totalitarian patriarchy of the twenty-fifth century, our heroes voyage to the Qysterian island of Absonia where they are dominated by towering island women with enormous phalluses and forced to emasculate themselves with a naturally growing island herb.

 

Without revealing more of the peculiar and tasty twists this novel takes, I’ll acknowledge that the story raises one obvious question about authorship: do you have to do it in order to write about it?

 

Does a mystery writer have to be a murderer?

 

Does a science fiction writer have to be a space alien?

 

The answer is simple. I’m a writer—I really am making this up. I can write from the perspective of another race or another gender, just as female authors can describe male on male sex or a black male can write about the experience of a white man.

 

Some writers write close to their own hearts and expose themselves and their relationships. Others write away from themselves. I belong to the second category. I’m not my characters. That first person I, Mack Frost the first person storyteller in this novel, is a voice I’m creating. Writing by the seat of my pants, I let my imagination and the developing characters carry me onward.

 

In The Raptures of Time, my characters travel through time and space in ways I’ve never done. They engage in oral sex with the hunky men of Tungon Village. They experience anal penetration in the village of Jekor, including getting pegged by women with strap-on dildoes. They are captured by underground troglodytes and held as sex slaves. They are emasculated by gigantic dominatrices, and eventually restored by Mack’s growing superhuman and paranormal powers.

 

I’m making up the story of The Raptures of TimeThe Raptures of Time 300 DPI—I’m a writer. I have done my upmost to give my readers a grand story in outrageous and enchanting detail. Raptures, like all that I write, is pure fiction and glorious invention.

3 Responses to “Invention”


  1. 1 S.A. June 10, 2014 at 11:31 AM

    I agree that writers can use their imagination to create characters and worlds that are separate from their own experiences – as you point out, that’s commonly done (e.g., science fiction). I’m curious, though, whether you think that it adds credibility to the story if the writer has insight into the context when writing about real-world situations? For example, there’s so much publicly available information (fact, documentary) about murders/murderers that a murder-mystery writer has access to a lot of info to help shape a credible story without having to actually be a murderer. But does a non-LGBT author have the same access to resources to provide the necessary insight to successfully craft a fully-rounded LGBT story? Any more, I think that the body of LGBT-related info available is much richer than it used to be, so perhaps this is the case. But I confess, as a reader, that I give more weight to LGBT fiction written by LGBT authors… Perhaps this means I’m missing out on some great stories. Thanks for sharing!

    Like

    • 2 David Holly June 11, 2014 at 12:54 PM

      Hi, S. A. Thanks for your response. I was thinking about some of the heterosexual women writers who write M/M erotica. It’s a different world, but many of them a well written and provide an interesting perspective.

      I, of course, write gay because I am gay; however, my personal experiences do not necessarily inform my characters’ development or psyches.

      I always think of fiction is not being a mirror of reality, but a world created by the writer.
      David

      Like

  2. 3 Kim June 11, 2014 at 9:36 AM

    David, thanks for sharing through your blog. I enjoyed reading your insights and suspect I would love your novel…so I’ll have to pick it up soon. As a reader, I like going to worlds and having experiences that I don’t normally have so why shouldn’t I allow a writer to do the same.

    Like


Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 2,022 other followers


