Graduation Scenes

BY BARBARA ANN WRIGHT

 

Earlier today I had a thought. Katya and Starbride have been with me for five years. That’s time enough to know someone inside and out. I always thought that saying was kind of gross, but when it comes to fictional characters, I understand. I know these people, not only what they look like but how they feel, how they’d respond to every situation. And now my time with them is drawing to a close.

*Cue “It’s So Hard To Say Goodbye To Yesterday” by Boyz II Men, the song of many a senior class in the 90’s*

I hear you saying, “I thought you hated these characters! You whined about that enough on Facebook.” I know I did, but now that I’m at the end of my time with them, I’m a little sentimental.

And now you’re thinking, “We’re here to talk about A Kingdom Lost, A Kingdom Lost 300 DPIthe third Katya and Starbride book. Won’t there be a fourth in January 2015?” People, please hold all questions until the end.

There will be a fourth book, The Fiend Queen, and after it, I’ll be done with Katya’s and Starbride’s current story. The end is on my mind because I’m now wrapping up the draft that will go to Bold Strokes for editing. By January, I’ll have forgotten what it feels like to finish writing a series. Seeing my entire series in print will be a far different feeling, one that will probably make want to celebrate and throw up at the same time, maybe from nerves and maybe from tequila. Maybe both.

Long ago, I’d thought to write a three book series, but as I started A Kingdom Lost, I knew I wouldn’t have room to include everything I wanted or have my characters grow and change the way I’d planned. I’d have to rush my ending, hurry through confrontations, and sweep conflict under the rug. And what about the love? Rush that, too, the very thing that’s propelled this story from the beginning? Don’t rush the love, baby.

They say the journey is more important than the destination (except in the case of long car trips). For Katya and Star, being apart after just falling in love, fearing for each other’s lives and making decisions based on that fear, that’s what’s important. I wanted to show each step of their journey, so the reader could be with them.

After you’ve read A Kingdom Lost, you can be sure I’ve got you in book four, that your questions will be answered, and we can graduate tearfully but happily and probably hate our class song for the rest of our lives.

But here’s something you won’t hate. I’m doing a giveaway. Leave a comment here, and you’ll automatically be entered twice! Get all the details on my blog. http://barbaraannwright.wordpress.com/

35 Responses to “Graduation Scenes”


  1. 1 Bookgeek April 1, 2014 at 9:12 AM

    Am just reading and enjoying A Kingdom Lost … hope the conclusion in book 4 will come soon. I hate hanging on a cliff

    Like

  2. 3 kejaeck April 1, 2014 at 11:12 AM

    Congrats on the third, and hurry with the final one!

    Like

  3. 5 Catherine April 1, 2014 at 11:42 AM

    When I got my kindle for Xmas I began hunting around for a decent lesbian fantasy novel to read. I love table top RPGs and a lot of the standard fantasy novels don’t usually have that many strong female characters, and definatly don’t have a LGBT side to them.
    When I finally found The Pyramid Waltz i was hooked within the first few pages & read the whole thing from start to finish in just a few hrs, the ending left me wanting more. I hopped on twitter & praised the author asking when the journey would continue and luckily for me it was only a few weeks before the release of book 2 ‘For Want of a Fiend’, again I was drawn into there world & finished the whole thing in just a few hrs again I was left wishing there was more! The wait for book 3 ‘A Kingdom Lost’ is almost over for me & I’m looking forward to emerging myself in their journey again knowing That the ending will leave me longing to read book 4.

    Those who’ve read the books know what I mean, and those who haven’t give them a go. I think you’ll enjoy them more than you realise.
    Even if I don’t win the lengthy post is worth it, cause Barbara deserves to be praised and recognised for writing & sharing this awesome Saga with us.

    Like

  4. 7 David G April 1, 2014 at 1:37 PM

    As someone who is also carrying some characters around in my head I can only wonder if they will indeed go away when the series ends. Of course, a satisfying ending may pacify them for a while but I still imagine them popping in now and again, if only to say “Hi. Just wanted you to know we haven’t forgotten you. Ahem.”

    Like

  5. 9 S.A. April 1, 2014 at 2:49 PM

    Thank you for respecting the journey and adding a 4th book to the series.🙂 (Although I agree – on long car trips, it’s usually all about the destination, at least the farther from the starting point you get!)

    Like

  6. 11 Devlyn April 1, 2014 at 8:02 PM

    I look forward to reading the series.

    Like

  7. 13 Angela Brown April 1, 2014 at 8:32 PM

    “It’s So Hard to Say Goodbye to Yesterday”…how I do remember that song fondly. And the singing group too🙂

    But I think you gave a great summary of what it’s like to reach that point where The End is truly the Final End and how it feels as the author. I appreciate you giving this series your all and for giving us, the readers, Katya and Star to enjoy.

    Like

  8. 15 Sarah April 2, 2014 at 3:04 AM

    I have been looking forward to this book, and I so pleased that there will be a fourth book. Congratulations and THANK YOU!!

    Like

  9. 17 Zardaz3 April 2, 2014 at 3:42 AM

    I am ordering the new book tonight.

    Like

  10. 19 rosii1959 April 2, 2014 at 10:08 AM

    Looking forward to the next two books.

    Like

  11. 21 Morgayne April 2, 2014 at 10:47 AM

    Congrats on your series. I look forward to reading it from book 1:D

    Like

  12. 23 Kim April 2, 2014 at 2:48 PM

    Thanks for the update and books three and four. Can’t wait to see where you go too next!

    Like

  13. 25 Anita Bradshaw April 3, 2014 at 8:32 AM

    I am looking forward to A Kingdom Lost and glad there is another one on the way. It is funny how you do come to care about characters. Thanks for creating such memorable ones.

    Like

  14. 27 Dorinda Depp April 5, 2014 at 10:48 PM

    Got the book Friday and am enjoying it. Hope your hard at work on the next one. Dorinda

    Sent from my iPad

    >

    Like

  15. 29 Sally April 8, 2014 at 1:35 PM

    I would love to win your giveaway! Love your books!

    Like

  16. 31 Cindy G. April 9, 2014 at 12:27 AM

    Love fantasy books. I would love to be entered in your giveaway please.

    Like

  17. 32 Brandyn May 12, 2014 at 12:21 PM

    I just finished A Kingdom Lost and it is incredible! Each book in this saga is more compelling than the previous – I feel like I’m gorging myself at a feast. As anxious as I am for the concluding book and evil Uncle Roland’s comeuppance, I am not ready for the story to end.That said, I am looking forwarding to reading whatever you tee up after you conclude Katya and Starbride’s story. You are an incredible story teller!

    Like


  1. 1 Graduating on the BSB blog! | Barbara Ann Wright Trackback on April 1, 2014 at 10:01 AM
  2. 2 The Lone Star Lesfic festival | Barbara Ann Wright Trackback on April 2, 2014 at 12:16 PM
  3. 3 Over at Women and Words | Barbara Ann Wright Trackback on April 8, 2014 at 12:53 PM

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 2,021 other followers


