It’s called Imagination…

BY SHERI LEWIS WOHL

I love books. I love writing them. I love reading them. I love holding them. I love talking about them. There pretty much isn’t anything I dislike about books. For as long as I can remember, I wanted to be a writer and the day I sold my first manuscript was huge. Did I get a big contract? A giant advance? A whirlwind release tour? Nope. Did it matter? Not in the least. My dream of becoming a writer came true and that single reward was the only thing that counted.

I still get just as much satisfaction out of writing books. I get better at it with each one. I become a little more successful with each one. The work is hard, long, and sometimes tedious. The satisfaction of having put in the work immense. But the biggest joy is talking with people who read my books. I love their enthusiasm, their comments, their willingness to talk with the shy writer who usually hangs out in the back of the room.

That said, there’s one question I get asked routinely that always has me scratching my head. Oh, I get the typical—where do you get your ideas? Why do you write about vampires? Who is your favorite character? All standard questions for a novelist and all easily answered. But there’s another question that pops up again and again:  Have you done all the sex you write about?

That one makes me smile. Why, you ask? Well, as I typically answer that particular question with a question: “At least one person dies in every single book I’ve written and no one ever asks me if I’ve killed someone so why do you think I’ve tried every sexual encounter I write about?” It boils down to one single thing regardless of what I’m writing about: imagination. It’s the guiding force in every book and every scene. It’s what makes writing and reading so very much fun.

Today, I’ll let you in on a little secret. It’s true I haven’t tried everything I write about when it comes to sex in my books but it’s possible, just possible, I write from a combination of experience and imagination. I’ll let you decide which is which. Let your imagination soar.

Sheri Lewis Wohl’s latest release, Scarlet Revenge, is available now at www.BoldStrokesBooks.comScarlet Revenge 300 DPI

Learn more about Sheri at www.sherilewiswohl.com, www.sherilewiswohl.wordpress.com, www.sheri26.blogspot.com, and on Facebook and Twitter

22 Responses to “It’s called Imagination…”


  1. 1 Vic April 16, 2013 at 9:46 AM

    Good blog, Sheri. Can’t say I’ve ever had anyone ask me that question. I live in hope. I have a really risque comeback if that day ever comes..but I’m sure you were just being nice.

    Like

  2. 4 Connie April 16, 2013 at 10:21 AM

    Oh Sheri, what a great blog–I felt we were sitting in Palm Springs visiting!

    Like

  3. 5 S.A. April 16, 2013 at 11:43 AM

    I’ve enjoyed your previous books and am looking forward to this one. I’m glad you’re able to meet some readers’ more…personal questions with humor.😉

    Like

  4. 7 kathy April 16, 2013 at 2:29 PM

    It’s called Imagination, eh? I have often wondered myself about the sex scenes that writers come up with. Not so much as to where they get the ideas from, but the…how shall we put it…side effects of writing about sex..
    Other than that. yes, the imagination is a great source of material for our writings.

    Like

  5. 9 Lisa April 16, 2013 at 4:07 PM

    As a reader, it’s interesting to get an author’s perspective on Q and A sessions about books and writing. I’m not sure if I can come up with a question that you haven’t already been asked before.🙂 Are there any questions that no reader has asked but you wish that someone would ask?

    Like

    • 10 Sheri April 17, 2013 at 11:21 AM

      Hi Lisa. Off the top of my head, I think I’ve been asked just about everything! It’s fun though. People come up with some great creative questions that can really make me stop and think.

      Like

  6. 11 Devlyn April 17, 2013 at 12:30 AM

    Sheri, I am glad you do write because I love reading your books. I have never thought to ask such a question of an Author (I wouldnt have the guts) but laughed at your answer – very clever.

    Like

  7. 13 Erin Saluta April 17, 2013 at 1:48 AM

    That is an excellent answer for an awkward question! I do have a question though, was there someone who encouraged you to read when you were younger, and if so, who were they in relation to you?

    Like

    • 14 Sheri April 17, 2013 at 11:09 AM

      Hi Erin. Yes – my mother was very encouraging when it came to reading and the funny part is, she isn’t a reader. She instilled a great love for books in myself and my brothers. For a non-reader though…she’s read all my books!

      Like

  8. 15 Lilaine April 17, 2013 at 2:18 AM

    Isn’t combining experience and imagination fundamental to every creative endeavor? And the ingredients’ dosage would then be characteristic of a particular work, or a particular author (some have a very prolific imagination… or is it a vast experience? Oh, right! Both! 😉 ).
    I’m curious to get a taste of your particular mixture.🙂
    And Sheri,
    … have you ever killed someone? ^^

    Like

  9. 17 Kim April 17, 2013 at 8:36 AM

    Sheri, thanks for a good chuckle this morning. Love your comeback and your books. Look forward to reading this one soon.

    Like

  10. 19 jo April 17, 2013 at 9:26 AM

    Really enjoyed this book- thanks Jo

    Like

  11. 21 Terry Fountain April 17, 2013 at 10:07 AM

    Sherri, I’ve yet to have the pleasure of reading your books. After reading this blog, this may need to change, as I am intrigued. Love books that awaken one’s imagination and contain twists, turns, and of course sex.
    Is there a particular book one should start with, when reading your work, or are the books stand only stories?
    I too feel the need to ask…have you ever killed someone? lol!! As for questions regarding the sex contained in your books, I’ll hold off asking anything until I’ve read them.
    Cheers! Terry.

    Like


Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 2,031 other followers


