It’s okay to fall in love with your best friend…

BY ERIN DUTTON

Or at least that’s what Evelyn Fisher tells herself in my new book, More Than Friends.More Than Friends 300 DPI Sure, things get complicated when said friend also happens to be fresh out of a relationship with her other closest friend.

 

I myself have fallen for, and subsequently ended up dating a good friend. But I’ll save that story for another time. Since the mid-February release date makes this practically a Valentine’s Day book, I’ll tell you an even more personal tale about how I met the love of my life…the love that makes all others pale in comparison…the woman who inspires the romance in me…she completes me. Did I go too far?

 

Our love story begins four years ago. At the time, my best guy friend had a habit of trying to fix me up with every available lesbian he met, with no regard for personality or actual compatibility with me. So, when he came to me and said he had someone in mind for me, I listened half-heartedly as he told me about the party he’d met her at, and how outgoing and boisterous she was. Which of course, matched up perfectly with my introverted, home-body personality. (insert sarcasm here) I was even more intrigued when he told me about how she’d ended a fifteen year relationship only a month before. Obviously, she was ready for the type of serious, long term relationship I hoped to eventually find.

 

But he badgered. I was about to go out of town for two weeks, so I agreed to meet her, in a group setting, when I returned. Who knows how things might have gone had that plan actually happened. He pestered further. He texted me one Sunday night and gave me her phone number. He suggested I call or text her so that we might begin talking while I was out of town and get to know each other a little. Now, cold calls are not remotely my thing. But for some reason, that night I sent an exploratory text—an eloquently worded introduction that she mocks to this day.

 

For the next two weeks, we communicated via text, then on the phone. This arrangement saved me some of the nervousness of early face-to-face meetings, and gave me the chance to woo her with my carefully selected words. I found her funny, easy to talk to, and a little flirty. And as she’ll readily tell you, by the time I got back in town I was half in love with her before we’d even met.

 

Our first dinner together—well, I’ll just say it—I was charming and effervescent and not at all my usual shy self. Okay, her version might be slightly different and involve what she would describe as an awkward hug at the end. But something made this amazing woman give me another chance. Which allowed me to discover that we were compatible after all. While she can often be the life of the party, she’s just as happy spending a quiet evening in. She challenges me and comforts me. She makes me laugh. Her smile still makes me warm all over and every kiss still makes me tingle. I guess that friend knew what he was doing after all…because as it turns out, I found not only a great love, but a new best friend.

13 Responses to “It’s okay to fall in love with your best friend…”


  1. 1 Anna February 19, 2013 at 8:42 AM

    that was a really cute story, thanks for sharing

    Like

  2. 2 Erin Saluta February 19, 2013 at 8:58 AM

    That was funny and sweet all at the same time. It’s great when love just finds you like that with the bonus best friend! Sounds like perfect story material.

    Like

  3. 3 Cheri The Rev February 19, 2013 at 9:41 AM

    Falling in love with your best friend worked out very well for me!

    I love your books, Erin, and look forward to reading this one, too.

    Like

  4. 5 S.A. February 19, 2013 at 10:16 AM

    Great blog; thanks for sharing! And congrats on finding The One.🙂

    Like

  5. 6 Beth February 19, 2013 at 11:35 AM

    Some things are meant to be and you and your girl fall into that category. Congratulations and thanks for sharing your story.

    Like

  6. 7 Sheri Campbell February 19, 2013 at 2:22 PM

    Erin ,this was just the sweetest love story. Congratulations on finding both a friend and the one. Both of you are blessed.

    Like

  7. 8 Brooke February 19, 2013 at 7:00 PM

    Thanks for sharing your story Erin, it was heartwarming and made me smile. I finished More Than Friends last weekend and loved it as much as I’ve loved your others. Thanks for writing awesome books that, like your true story, are heartwarming and make me smile🙂 Sorry about the cheesiness here, but it couldn’t be helped, sometimes I’m cheesy.

    Like

  8. 10 Kim February 19, 2013 at 8:45 PM

    Erin, love your books and your story of meeting the love of your life! Already read this one and you’ve got another winner! Can’t wait for your next one..hint, hint.

    Like

  9. 11 Devlyn February 19, 2013 at 8:56 PM

    Isnt love grand when it just happens. Thanks for sharing your story Erin.

    Like

  10. 12 Lisa T. February 27, 2013 at 4:37 PM

    What a sweet story.🙂 I’m looking forward to reading More Than Friends.

    Like


  1. 1 Read my guest blog at the Bold Strokes Blog | Erin Dutton – on writing romance… Trackback on February 19, 2013 at 11:58 AM

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 2,031 other followers


