The Next Big Thing Blog Hop

BY RADCLYFFE

I was tagged by Diana Simmonds (http://dianasimmonds.wordpress.com) to participate in The Next Big Thing Blog Hop this month. It was a real pleasure to get reconnected with one of my favorite authors and to have a chance to contribute to such a fun enterprise. I’ll be talking about my newest release, Crossroads, which came out in November, 2012.

BSB_Crossroads_small

Now onto the questions:

1) What is the working title of your book?

Crossroads.

2) Where did the idea come from for the book?

I started writing in the romance subgenre of “medical romances” with Passion’s Bright Fury, first released in 2003. I discovered I enjoy setting romances within the action-packed sphere of emergency/trauma medicine and have written a number of books set in that arena. This time, I decided to move away from trauma, but not all that far, because I find that life and death circumstances, be they medical, environmental, military or otherwise, heighten the characters’ emotional investment and connection, making for a volatile developing romance. Also, I enjoy writing about the hospital community, which is like a large extended neighborhood. As I began to write this story, I found myself returning to the familiar neighborhood I first introduced in Fated Love and wrote about again in Night Call. I’ve found that my readers enjoy returning to familiar settings and catching a glimpse of characters as they move through life following their initial romance.

3) What genre does your book fall under? 

This would be considered a traditional character driven romance in the medical romance subgenre. By traditional, I mean that character interaction, rather than an external plot, such as intrigue, action adventure, thriller etc, primarily drives this story.

4) Which actors would you choose to play your characters in a movie rendition? 

I don’t have the slightest idea. I need help on this one. Maybe you could pick someone🙂

5) What is the one sentence synopsis of your book? 

A midwife and a high risk OB are forced to work together despite a rocky past, professional differences, and unexpected attraction.

6) What is the longer synopsis of your book? 

Dr. Hollis Monroe and Nurse-Midwife Annie Colfax first meet under the most frightening circumstances–when Annie turns up in the emergency room alone and in the midst of a precipitous, life-threatening labor. Four years later, they meet again when both are assigned against their will and professional judgment to work together to form a high risk pregnancy clinic with shared care between hospital obstetricians and community-based nurse midwives. While initially at odds, with unresolved anger and distrust simmering between them, they discover their mutual compassion for their patients and passion for one another changes both their lives.

7) Will your book be self-published or represented by an agency?

Neither. I am published by Bold Strokes Books, Inc. and am not represented by an agent (which is true of 95% plus of the authors at Bold Strokes Books).

8) How long did it take you to write the first draft of your manuscript?

10 weeks, which is standard for me, although as I revise each chapter before writing the next one, I actually have a second draft by the end of that period of time.

9) What inspired you to write this book? 

I recently read an article in the New York Times about the plight of nurse midwives after the closing of St. Vincent’s Hospital in Manhattan. Because in some states nurse midwives are required to practice under the “auspices” of physicians, these practitioners were suddenly without legal standing. Nevertheless, they were committed to caring for their patients and their patients were committed to continuing with them. Some of these issues inspired me to place my characters in a similar situation.

10) What else about your book might pique the readers interest?

This book explores community on many levels–the hospital as community, the neighborhood as community, extended friendships as family and community. Annie Colfax, one of the main characters, has a young child and her interactions with her friends and neighbors, including those with other children, help show the impact of falling in love on all the aspects of our life–social, emotional, physical, and spiritual. I hope that this book does what every good romance should do–allow the reader to experience the joy of falling in love on all those levels.

Crossroads is available at the Bold Strokes Books web store in print and digital versions, as well as at retailers online and at your local bookseller.

21 Responses to “The Next Big Thing Blog Hop”


  1. 1 Cee Cee January 5, 2013 at 10:13 AM

    Your books are an inspiration to me, as are you. I am looking forward to reading Crossroads.

    Like

  2. 2 bookgeek January 5, 2013 at 10:14 AM

    Loved Crossroads … look forward to this year’s books

    Like

  3. 3 freckles3 January 5, 2013 at 10:23 AM

    10 weeks to write? Wow, that is just…WOW.
    Enjoyed the book very much.

    Like

  4. 4 Terry Fountain January 5, 2013 at 11:00 AM

    If Crossroads is anything like your other medical based books I’m sure it will be a fantastic read. I’m soon to find out.
    I always look forward to all your new releases…both as Radclyffe and Raand.
    Cheers….and here’s to much more success in 2013!!
    T.

    Like

  5. 5 Angella January 5, 2013 at 11:13 AM

    I have just finished reading Crossroads and I thought it was alright. I probably should have read Fated Love and even Night Call first because I did keep wandering about the lesser characters. I think I received only enough information to pique my interest in the primary characters but I was hoping for so much more…especially after having read the book’s synopsis. I would still recommend it because I love Radclyffe’s writing but it needed more…

    Like

  6. 6 Angella January 5, 2013 at 11:18 AM

    I did not mean wandering, as my iPhone so generously supplied, but wondering.🙂

    Like

  7. 7 Mayra Chaidez January 5, 2013 at 1:19 PM

    I just finished reading Fated Love and Night Call and now I’m going to start Crossroads. Can’t wait🙂

    Like

  8. 8 S.A. January 5, 2013 at 1:30 PM

    Thanks for the insights, Rad! I enjoyed Crossroads (along with all your other books) very much. Looking forward to this year’s new offerings.🙂

    Like

  9. 9 oozy60933 January 5, 2013 at 1:43 PM

    It’s interesting to me to hear details about the writing process. 10 weeks probably goes by pretty quickly. It tends to take me a day to finish a book if I am uninterrupted, so I tend to put off reading radclyffe books until I have a few to read. That way I can have a “radclyffe fix!”

    Like

  10. 10 Brooke January 5, 2013 at 2:21 PM

    Loved Crossroads Rad! Glad to know I’m not the only one who relishes seeing characters from other books making appearances in your new ones. Each time they pop up it makes me smile. Thanks and Happy New Year!

    Like

  11. 11 Morgayne January 5, 2013 at 2:32 PM

    Happy twenty-thirteen, Rad! You’re a writer among writers. Ten weeks! I bow to you:D

    Like

  12. 12 Anita Bradshaw January 5, 2013 at 5:43 PM

    Knowing virtually nothing about midwives, I found this and the backstory very interesting. Thanks for the blog!

    Like

  13. 13 Forman January 5, 2013 at 8:33 PM

    Just one question…. Is your life as exciting as your characters??? I hope not, because that would make my life soooooooooooooooooo boring. Love to read your books and can’t wait to read more !!!!!!!

    Like

  14. 14 Sheri Campbell January 5, 2013 at 8:45 PM

    Having a strong nursing back ground and a lot of OB, i love your novels set in the medical community. Crossroads caught my attention because of the Mid Wife character. I though, now what does Rad know about birthing babies?????. This will be good and it was GOOD. New angle, leave it to you. HAHA Looking forward to actually meeting (you) my hero ,in Austin, Texas.

    Like

  15. 15 Devlyn January 5, 2013 at 9:56 PM

    Fated Love is my favourite Rad book so I was excited to find some wonderful familiar characters and meet some new ones in Crossroads. This is a fantastic book and highly recommended to everyone looking for a super book.
    Rad, you continue to set the highest of standards in lesbian fiction. Congratulations on writing another award winner.

    Like

  16. 16 Fearless One January 5, 2013 at 10:15 PM

    Crossroads was an amazing book. I really loved Hollis and Annie’s story. It was different than your usual stories but a welcome change and it turned out great. Thanks for sharing it with us. I look foward to your next book, which I believe is another in the Honor series. Definitely looking foward to that.

    Like

  17. 17 adelaide22 January 6, 2013 at 2:32 PM

    I have just finished Crossroads …it was great to meet the characters from Fated love and Night Call again…I love all Radclyffe’s books!

    Like

  18. 18 Kim January 6, 2013 at 5:04 PM

    As always Rad, enjoyed hearing more about your process. Thanks for another excellent offering in the series.

    Like

  19. 19 Sue Flynn January 6, 2013 at 5:24 PM

    When i first started reading Rad books a friend lent me the honor series and I fell in love with books in general. Then I started buying books from the US which took weeks to get here. I had no idea there was actually an order in which those books should be read. After many books I figured it out and then read them in order (once figured) and love the way old characters pop into other books. I now have every Rad book but always my fave would be Fated love. Those characters popping up in other books is brilliant, a few years apart but the chance to visit them often years later is so good. Thank you

    Like

  20. 20 Erin Saluta January 6, 2013 at 5:55 PM

    I agree that it would be hard to pick and actress to play either of the roles. Your characters rarely do that for me as they are unique in an of themselves and don’t need to be supported by Hollywood images. One of the things I’ve loved about all of them. i absolutely loved Crossroads and think you nailed it with the idea of community in every sense of the word. Thanks for doing all that you do to keep lesfic alive and thriving!

    Like

  21. 21 Melissa Levine January 7, 2013 at 11:58 PM

    Just started reading it. I love when old friends come back in a new book. It’s been great catching up w/ Honor and Linda.

    Like


Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 2,021 other followers


