The Power of Storytelling

By Shelley Thrasher

Once upon a time, at a family picnic, my teenage sister Tami and I sat on a homemade quilt under towering pines and discussed synchronicity. I was fresh from studying theology at the University of Chicago Divinity School, and she was in love with Paul McCartney and the revolutionary Beatles. Neither of us had a very sophisticated understanding of the concept, but we finally concluded that events in the present can influence not only the future but the past. That theory underlies my reason for writing my novel The Storm.

I wanted my grandmother and her fifth son, Wendell, to have a happier life, so I took pieces from the past and made up a story in which they did. Will it work, you ask. I have no idea. But telling their stories has certainly influenced mine.

I never much believed in Santa Claus. It was evident early on that my parents sacrificed to buy me the baby doll I didn’t want and the Roy Rogers pistols I did. But Santa Claus and synchronicity are similar: if you believe in them, they’ll affect your life in positive ways.

My mother and I have never talked a lot, though we’ve spent hours working side by side, mostly in the kitchen cooking and cleaning up. However, when she started telling me her family stories, and I began to really listen to them, we found a topic of conversation that we still haven’t exhausted.

We spent a glorious week once in Bowdon, Georgia, just the two of us researching family history and even meeting a distant cousin. My great-grandparents left there right after the Civil War, so we retraced their wagon tracks and stopped by a courthouse in northern Louisiana, which led us to the remains of a cotton mill in Arizona, Louisiana that my great-grandparents had bought after the war yet failed to make a go of. The next year we even organized a family trek there, with three of my mother’s brothers and her two sisters.

Many years later, after I finally completed my novel, I began to do pre-publication readings. I’ve always thought of myself as a very shy, private person, so reading my work aloud terrified me, as it does many new authors. I asked one of my cousins, Mary Beth, a former speech teacher and professional public speaker, for help. She coached me. I needed a Web site, and Mary Beth’s sister, Jo, with a degree in computer science, became my Web mistress. Connie, my partner, has been beside me every step of the way.

I did a reading in Dallas this summer, and to my surprise, six of my new friends from Tyler attended, as did two of my old friends from Ft. Worth. Three of my old friends have asked me to speak to their book clubs after The Storm is published in December, and my BSB friends have been nothing but supportive. In January, I’ll visit Jewel, a lesbian book club in Dallas, to discuss my writing with my new and old friends there. Then I’ll be off to Palm Springs and Austin for other presentations this spring.

Connie has introduced me to Facebook, which has multiplied my circle of friends, and my editor Ruth is teaching me to Tweet on Twitter and fight online pirates who may try to steal my book. I’m even finding a few hours to fashion a new novel, based on some time I spent in Paris during the 1970s.

Writing the stories my mother has shared with me and the ones I’ve made up to complement hers has certainly influenced my future, but has it altered the past? Will the happy ending I’ve given my grandmother and my uncle somehow change the sadness in the life she and he both endured?

I like to think it will, just as writing a novel has changed my life and brought me closer to both family members and old/new friends, and to my more public self.

26 Responses to “The Power of Storytelling”


  1. 1 Kathy knowles December 4, 2012 at 10:01 AM

    I just ordered your book. I’m so looking forward to reading it.

    Like

  2. 2 S.A. December 4, 2012 at 10:27 AM

    I think it’s great that you and your family are digging into your roots, and find it interesting that family ties influenced your novel, which has in turn influenced your ties with both family and friends. I’m looking forward to reading the book.

    Like

  3. 4 Jo Brower December 4, 2012 at 11:46 AM

    This sounds like a really great book… on my list after I finish with Ali Valis’ new book

    Like

    • 5 Shelley December 4, 2012 at 3:39 PM

      Yes. Ali is always a must-read. She’s a dear, and what a storyteller. A tough act to follow, but I’m glad you’ve decided to give mine a try.

      Like

  4. 6 Kim December 4, 2012 at 12:08 PM

    Thanks for sharing a bit of your background story. Look forward to reading your novel.

    Like

  5. 8 Lisa Girolami December 4, 2012 at 12:20 PM

    Beautifully written, Shelley. And you’re always an inspiration.

    Like

  6. 10 Elan Barnehama December 4, 2012 at 12:23 PM

    Fun read. Telling the story of the story is powerful.

    Like

    • 11 Shelley December 4, 2012 at 3:47 PM

      Thanks, Elan. Together, we storytellers are making a difference, especially if you think about how few books such as ours were available fifty years ago.

      Like

  7. 12 Beth December 4, 2012 at 1:34 PM

    Thanks for sharing the story behind the story. I look forward to reading your book.

    Like

  8. 14 Kathleen Knowles December 4, 2012 at 1:46 PM

    i’ve just ordered your book. I’m really looking forward to reading it. Our sources and inspirations for stories are so fascinating and different.

    Like

    • 15 Shelley December 4, 2012 at 3:56 PM

      Yes. It’s amazing that we all have so much in common yet have so many varied stories. I look forward to hearing what you think about mine.

      Like

  9. 16 Connie December 4, 2012 at 3:40 PM

    Great job baby. You are the best and an inspiration to all. I know how much you love what you do from your biggest love of editing to writing and enjoying both sides of the process.

    Like

  10. 18 Sheri Campbell December 4, 2012 at 3:42 PM

    Oh Shelley, I can hear your sweet southern voice telling this story with the love shown in your gentle eyes. You are a good Storyteller and you do it with love. I got the Roy Rogers guns and the hat to go with them when I was 7 or 8. I wanted the doll too, I was the nurse, as you know. I believe in synchronicity in our lives too. Looking forward to reading The Storm.

    Like

    • 19 Shelley December 4, 2012 at 4:03 PM

      You got the Roy Rogers hat too? Wow! I’m jealous. The only dolls I wanted were the pretty, grownup female ones. Had no idea then that I’d prefer the living, breathing ones when I got older.🙂
      Can’t wait to discuss the book with you and the others in January.

      Like

  11. 20 Erin Saluta December 4, 2012 at 9:23 PM

    That is so sweet! I’m glad that doing something that you obviously love has helped bond you with friends and family, old, new and those who have left you with their history.

    Like

  12. 22 lynchly December 4, 2012 at 11:42 PM

    I’m enjoying hearing the layers of the many-layered Shelley. Roy Rogers pistols indeed.

    Like

  13. 24 Carol December 6, 2012 at 6:54 PM

    A chainsaw! You go.
    Very nice blog Shelley. I look forward to reading The Storm and seeing you in Palm Springs.

    Like

  14. 26 G December 10, 2012 at 3:42 PM

    Really enjoyed reading what I think of as the circle that resulted in your story, the circle of your family and the circle of your friends that combine to provide you with the confidence and support to the enjoyment of the circle of readers. Sounds like a great book and interesting backstory, thanks for sharing.

    Like


Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 2,021 other followers


