Book Arrival

There was a thud on the porch.

“More shoes for you, Annameekee!” Mary called to me.

We were both napping, though in different rooms.  It had been a long week and adjusting from summer life to teaching and mentoring life was tough.

I stumbled out of the bedroom and opened the door. “More shoes,” I grumbled as I bent down to pick up the box. It’s not like I am a shoe diva- far from it. It’s just that I can’t find a freaking decent pair of shoes in all of Santa Cruz, so I do the unthinkable: order several shoes from Shoebuy and then return what I don’t like, which in most cases, is all of them.  Don’t judge me.

Anyway, back to the box.  I bent down to pick it up and it was certainly not shoes. This box was heavy! “What’s this?” I looked at the label, but didn’t recognize the shipper. “Hmm.” I got the nearest car keys and busted through the tape.  At that moment, it hit me: heavy box + release date coming up = NO WAY!!

Yes way!!!  My book!  It was real! And in my house! What?!  Here’s a pic of it all snuggled up in its box!

“Mary! Look!” I held one up.  “Can you believe it?”

“Of course I can!” She jumped up and ran over to hug me. “It looks amazing!”

I smiled from ear to ear until my cheeks hurt. (see picture)

I have been through so, so much to get this book published: Weird agents that disappeared, editors that loved it then moved or had babies, publishing companies that posted my book all over the internet then went bankrupt leaving me with the embarrassment of having to tell everyone who ordered it that it would never come, a new agent, a new publishing company (Bold Strokes Books! Yay!), and a new title. And there it was in my hands- The You Know Who Girls: Freshman Year by Annameekee “THAT’S ME!” Hesik. Well, well, well.

Of course, the whole family wanted to read it right away.  Here’s Aggie, the super dog, totally engrossed in Chapter 5:

And then kitty Matisse demanded that I hold it up for her review.

She was severely disappointed that the book didn’t feature a cat named Matisse.  In fact, she was so bothered she destroyed the cover of the book that I took out of the box to have around the house to show friends.  I forgave her.  It was that or suffer  5AM wake up calls for the next three weeks.

So now what?!  I have a reading booked at Book Shop Santa Cruz, but it’s not until January.  Hmmm…A reading at the school where I used to teach sounds like fun.  Then there’s a possible reading in Seattle and, hey now, London.  But don’t worry, I will keep you all posted.  In the meantime, check out my totes awesome webbie site on the interwebs: www.annameekee.com and twitter- theyouknowwhogirls and email: annameekee@yahoo.com  and goodreads.com and, and, and…oh yes, Facebook! Annameekee Hesik (YA Author) Whew!!

Better get back to the second book in the series!

Love, hugs, unicorns, and rainbows!!

Annameekee Hesik

11 Responses to “Book Arrival”


  1. 1 Devlyn Sixtyseven October 2, 2012 at 9:00 AM

    Looking forward to seeing your book on my eBook reader. Glad you are so excited.

    Like

  2. 2 Diane October 2, 2012 at 9:35 AM

    I love reading your blogs they are so funny. The pictures with your pets are adorable. I am looking forward to reading your book.

    Like

  3. 3 SA October 2, 2012 at 9:59 AM

    Congrats! I loved that Aggie, the super dog, got into the story.🙂 Seattle’s my neighborhood, so keep folks posted if you’re out this way.

    Like

  4. 5 Beth October 2, 2012 at 11:08 AM

    Congratulations on your first book, it must be an amazing feeling to have it in your hands. I adore the pictures of the family members scoping out the new book.

    Like

  5. 6 Erin Saluta October 2, 2012 at 11:34 AM

    Wonderful blog about something that I am sure is an amazing experience! I’m glad you shared it with us and that the whole family is enjoying it. Congratulations!

    Like

  6. 7 Yvonne Heidt October 2, 2012 at 11:39 AM

    Soooo happy for you🙂 It’s an amazing “I can fly” feeling isn’t it? I’m looking forward to reading it.

    Like

  7. 8 Lilaine October 3, 2012 at 3:36 AM

    Great and fun series of blogs. Thanks for sharing.🙂
    Ya’ll writers might not get rich, but we readers get enriched in many ways with your works.

    I’ve tried to get Sylvestre (my cat) to read some of my writings (where he is the starring character), but he just gave me ‘the look’ and went his merry way (out the window).
    I guess it has something to do with the delicious sautéed Brussel sprouts I ate yesterday… 😉

    Like

  8. 10 Kim October 3, 2012 at 8:23 AM

    Congrats, can’t wait to read your book and share it with my dog and 4 cats! They aren’t quite into reading like yours but I’ll let them know your animals recommend it highly!

    Like


Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 2,031 other followers


