I’m in gay heaven…

BY ANNAMEEKEE HESIK

Holy Queer Writers, Batman! I’m in gay heaven.

First I was met by a posse of awesomeness at the airport!  We all piled into a cab, grabbed some grub, then arrived at the American Jewish University in “the valley” of Bel Air.  Like the Fresh Prince, I feel like I have arrived, but I did not tell the cabby, “Yo Holmes, smell you later.” That would have been uncouth.

I checked into my room and took a nice little nap on my little twin bed.  I never stayed in dorms in college, and can’t imagine having to share this small of space with one other person, let alone two or three.  How do you kids do it?? Impressive.  After my nap and a couple of Tylenol, I headed down to mingle with folks.  Mingling with folks is not one of my favorite things to do, but everyone here made it very easy.  The other participants are so lovely; I felt right at home.  You would not believe how far some have come: NC, TX, FL, CT, WI, NY, KS, and even England and Vancouver.  Wowzahs.

Then we had dinner, a kosher dinner.  It was lovely. I didn’t have to worry about all the veggie food being gone before I got there because they said, “If you ain’t veggie, don’t take the veggie!”  What a relief.  I hate having to worry about whether or not the veggie options will still be there by the time I get to it.  I felt very well cared for. But, this is the boring part of the day, and I am sorry for wasting your precious time writing about it.  Here’s the good stuff.

I had dinner with Alex Sanchez. Yep, that’s right.  We chatted.  We hung out.  It was cool. You know, in a SUPER RAD AWESOME kind of way.  And then, on my way back from grabbing a delicious kosher brownie, I stopped to say hi to my pal Dorothy Alison.  She’s just like I remember her- funny, kind, sweet, and firery. We talked about our dogs and wives and all that jazz.  You know, just hanging out with my literary idols. No big whoop.

Then we met in our seminar groups.  Our group is ten big and full of experience and stories and funny people.  I can’t wait to hear more about their projects.  I volunteered to have my manuscript read first because I really want to spend the week on it and I’d love to incorporate the feedback I get into my writing.  Alex is going to be a great leader. This is going to be a great week.

I am so tired that I can hardly type.  Thank you to all who helped me get here.  You have no idea what it means to me to be able to finally work with other LGBT writers.  What a gift.

Peace and Love. More to come.

Annameekee

5 Responses to “I’m in gay heaven…”


  1. 1 Anita Bradshaw September 27, 2012 at 8:13 AM

    Hope you have a great week, Annameekee! No doubt it will be.

    Like

  2. 2 SA September 27, 2012 at 9:09 AM

    Sounds like you’re in for a great time! Thanks for sharing with the rest of us!

    Like

  3. 3 Erin Saluta September 27, 2012 at 11:18 AM

    I’m with you on the veggie options being available Annameekee and am glad you will be well fed. I always wondered why it wasn’t just all veggie all the time because all those meat eaters take it anyway…But looking forward to the updates. Sounds like an interesting project!

    Like

  4. 4 Kim September 27, 2012 at 12:11 PM

    Enjoy the trip and soak up all that available knowledge!

    Like

  5. 5 Annameekee October 2, 2012 at 10:46 PM

    Thanks, everyone! It was incredible. We all miss that week like crazy. Keep posted for more LLf Retreat Blogs!

    Like


Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 2,021 other followers


