Researching Jacob’s War

by C.P. Rowlands

I have had a lot of questions about the research for my recent book, “Jacob’s War”, and, I hope to have the opportunity to provide a sequel to that book.
“Research” is something I’ve always loved, and it’s certainly a vital part of “Jacob’s War”. However, the drug culture was a reality check unlike anything I’d ever encountered.  In the first place, there’s a huge difference between researching ideas and events for a novel–versus collecting vital stats on drug trafficking.  Then, the personal cost–addiction–a cultural epidemic that affects millions of people from every corner of society. I collected current data and also met with real people who added another dimension to the actual process. For example, the members of my family that are in law enforcement, or the State and local operations that responded. The Federal level was very helpful and willing to do more that just hand over data. They took the time to meet with me, lending a personal side to the problems they face daily.
This “research” is the most fascinating, but also the most complicated, project I’ve ever worked on. I have no comparison on how America is doing with their war on drugs, except to say that we spend billions of dollars fighting the problem. Also, law enforcement in this area is enormous. The people that I came in contact with felt that they were doing the right thing and, at the end of the day, their results provide the most important data of all.
I had so much fun writing “Jacob’s War” that I can hardly wait to reconnect with AJ, Katie and their group…and several new characters have appeared.  That means new challenges and professional growth.  Also, I get to deepen their exciting, young relationship. Love, of course, always love. But first of all, more research.

6 Responses to “Researching Jacob’s War”


  1. 1 Melissa Moir September 20, 2012 at 12:28 PM

    Great book! I imagine it was eye-opening research for you. I have the misfortune of having a brother who died because of drug abuse. He wasn’t what most people would imagine as a drug user…..not in the stereo-typical sense. He was a registered nurse who got hooked on the drugs he was administering. His patients loved him like crazy. He was one of those people who would get down on their level and look them in the eyes when he was talking to them or doing a treatment. But……in the end, the drugs got him…….accidental overdose. That was 2 years ago. He was 45 and left behind 2 teenage sons. This disease effects EVERYBODY.

    Like

  2. 2 Shelley September 20, 2012 at 12:37 PM

    Your blog makes me want to put your novel at the top of the stack on my headboard. Good job.

    Like

  3. 3 Devlyn Sixtyseven September 20, 2012 at 10:34 PM

    I could tell Jacob’s War was well researched when I read it, it was so authentic. Thanks for writing a sequel, I eagerly await its publication date.

    Like

  4. 4 Jove Belle September 20, 2012 at 11:51 PM

    Cathy,

    Love you, love your writing.

    Yep.

    Like

  5. 5 Kim September 21, 2012 at 8:42 AM

    Your research showed in your very realistic tale. Enjoyed your book immensely.

    Like

  6. 6 C.P.Rowlands September 22, 2012 at 8:35 PM

    thanks everyone…and thanks for reading the book. I don’t like drugs but they’re certainly around and I had a specific reason for writing the book (see acknowledgements) I do have at least one more story to tell about this group and I’m working on it now. Thanks again, C.P. (Cathy)

    Like


Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 2,022 other followers


