Derby Clara’s Second Blog

 by Clara Nipper

In case you were wondering, I taste like glitter and venom. So today, I’ll focus on glitter.

Here we are with my second blog and I’m just as clueless as I was with the first, but I have included a photo of me in derby gear as a few people requested that.

So, for aspiring writers, here is the best advice I was ever given and therefore, the best advice I can give: meat in seat. Make a commitment every day to have your butt in the chair with the intention to write and stay there no matter what. If you stare into space; if you doodle; if you weep; stay there and I guarantee, you will write eventually.

Clarissa Pinkola Estes also said that “stories are medicine” and I find that inspiring enough to get my meat in the seat.

Regarding works in progress, I am in continual conflict with a manuscript entitled At My Mother’s Table. I just have too much material and so must decide what to cut. But the wonderful thing about this coming-of-age story is that it creates conversations about food. There is a chapter in which the main character eats mulberries right off the tree and when I shared that section aloud, it began an entire discussion of eating “wild” food as children. Green apples, sour cherries, blackberries wrestled from thorny canes, jam grapes loaded with seeds and honeysuckle blossoms were regular additions to our culinary fare. You really know you’re an adult when you walk past honeysuckle instead of running to it. And sharing these stories, I learned so much about my loved ones that I never otherwise would have known and that is one way I believe stories are medicine.

Until next time, derbylove to everyone. And I’ll be the one eating tomatoes off the vine and drinking water from the hose, come over and play!

9 Responses to “Derby Clara’s Second Blog”


  1. 1 Devlyn Sixtyseven May 15, 2012 at 7:32 AM

    Yes, they were the good old days. I remember eating passionfruit from my grandmothers driveway. I don’t think I have eaten one whole as an adult.
    Thanks for the picture of you Derby Style.

    Like

  2. 2 Denna May 15, 2012 at 8:18 AM

    I agree stories are medicinal so thanks to all the BSB aurhors for putting their “meat in seat”😉
    Thanks for the great derby shots. You look awesome. I was an aspiring derby kid in the 60’s and 70’s being a big fan of the Bay Bombers.

    Like

  3. 3 Carsen Taite May 15, 2012 at 8:29 AM

    Figs, right off the tree, were my favorite indulgence when I ran around barefoot at my grandparents’ farm. That’s not to say I wouldn’t stop and grab a few now, if I saw a fig tree in my path. Thanks for the advice and the memories.

    Like

  4. 4 Justine May 15, 2012 at 8:44 AM

    Great memories. Thanks for sharing them. As a NYC urchin in the 50s, I didn’t have much contact with planty things, but do remember when certain fruits came into season. Pomegranates, for example. They appeared for only a couple of weeks and then were gone, and it was a real adventure to tackle one. My one exposure to ‘wild’ food was sugar cane. Hated it. By the way, you good great in your rollerduds.

    Like

  5. 5 solargrrl May 15, 2012 at 11:33 AM

    Nice blog. Yep, those Honeysuckle bushes were truly nectar from the gods. And drinking water from the hose? It always tasted better that way. I just have one question—when and where can we get a calendar of more Derby Girls? Hot outfit! 😉

    Like

  6. 6 lynchly May 15, 2012 at 1:24 PM

    Love the “continual conflict” term. Sometimes that’s what it is!

    Like

  7. 8 Kim May 16, 2012 at 8:36 AM

    My pleasure as a child was “stealing” green plums from the neighbors tree and eating pears in my grandparent’s backyard. Thanks for the blog and you’re doing great!

    Like


  1. 1 Link Round Up « The Lesbrary Trackback on May 16, 2012 at 12:01 PM

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 2,022 other followers


