I saw an angel in the marble…

Sheri Lewis Wohl here and starting off 2012 with the promise of letting imagination rule. Starting with the angel in the marble and that probably has you saying…what??? Well, it’s part of a quote by Michelangelo and the whole quote goes like this:  “I saw an angel in the marble and I carved until I set him free.” When I first read that I thought to myself how completely Michelangelo captured the heart and soul of the creative spirit in just a few words. It doesn’t matter the medium, for him it was marble. For Picasso, paint. For writers, like me, words. For all of us, it begins and ends with imagination and the ability to carve until we set our angels free.

Now the whole imagination thing probably scares the crap out of the people who know me and readers who have picked up my work. After all, it’s not exactly angels I’m setting free in my novels. Vampires, yes. Werewolves, yes. An occasional ghost or witch, yes. Angels, not so much. No matter what I try to write, something strange always creeps in. Even when I begin a book with no preternatural beings involved at all, damned if one them doesn’t pop up when I least expect it. It’s just the way I roll.

My upcoming book is no exception. With my first BSB entry, Crimson Vengeance, I introduced you to one of my all-time favorite characters, Dr. Riah Preston, a 500-year-old vampire. Love her, love her, love her. The book ended and I didn’t want to let her go, but where to take her next? The idea came to me as I was riding my mountain bike through Riverside State Park here in eastern Washington State. It’s a gorgeous park with hills, forests, the river, and more beauty than you can imagine. Unless, you’re me. Oh yeah, I see and appreciate the glory of Riverside State Park, but it’s not all I see. As I rode my bike the 22 miles from my office to my home, it occurred to me that the park would make a great place to dump bodies. And what would be the logical one to dump the bodies? A werewolf of course. Again, I repeat: it’s just the way I roll. By the time I met my editor extraordinaire, Shelley Thrasher, Burgundy Betrayal in all its werewolf and vampire glory was born.

Life is great. It’s filled with interesting people and awesome adventure. But for me, one of life’s greatest gifts is that of imagination. As Edgar Allen Poe once said, “Those who dream by day are cognizant of many things that escape those who dream only at night.” Let your imagination soar and embrace the dream. Find your own angel and carve until you set it free. Wishing you all a happy and healthy new year. Cheers and happy reading.

9 Responses to “I saw an angel in the marble…”


  1. 1 Devlyn Sixtyseven April 3, 2012 at 8:00 AM

    Sheri, a thought provoking blog. I was amused at thinking of you riding your bike through a forrest while planning the perfect way to hide a body. I will definitely be reading Burgundy Betrayal but in the meantime I will be well satisfied with Crimson Vengeance which I started reading this afternoon. How fortuitous for me.

    Like

  2. 2 connie ward April 3, 2012 at 9:48 AM

    Sheri, keep riding for more wonderful ideas & keep writing for all of us to enjoy them.

    Like

  3. 3 sherilewiswohl April 3, 2012 at 11:15 AM

    Thanks Devlyn & Connie! The riding season is just kicking off around here and I’m so ready for the inspiration it gives me.

    Like

  4. 4 sherilewiswohl April 3, 2012 at 11:20 AM

    Thanks Devlyn & Connie. The riding season is just kicking off around here and I’m so ready for the inspiration. Don’t quite get the imagination going when riding a trainer in the middle of the family room all winter even though I can watch vampire/werewolf movies. It’s much better out there in the real world.

    Like

  5. 6 Sheri Campbell April 4, 2012 at 12:16 PM

    Enjoyed your blog and picture. Looking forward to reading your books. I, too, loved bike (motorcycle) riding in parks. I know I’m lacking in the imagination department therefore I’m thrilled for all authors. I do love to read.

    Like

  6. 7 sherilewiswohl April 5, 2012 at 9:20 AM

    Thanks for the reblog, Dan! I loved my Harley, Sheri, but alas I had to give it up for the non-motorized variety. I was fearless on the Harley and it was only a matter of time before I crashed🙂 I hope you like the books. I sure have fun writing them. Happy reading.

    Like


  1. 1 The Lesbrary Trackback on April 4, 2012 at 11:42 AM
  2. 2 Imagination « Gvnett's Blog Trackback on April 19, 2012 at 1:15 AM

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 2,021 other followers


