To Resolve or Not Resolve

Hmmm…. it’s that time of year again…

Time for that age-old tradition of making those promises to ourselves that we promise to break – New Year’s Resolutions

So, what should mine be?

Less Mania?


More Money?


Seriously?
Resolutions set you up to be a failure every year. Who’s idea was it to make those things anyway? Probably my parents – still trying to prove to me I’ll fail at everything I try. (Actually, it is widely believed that the Babylonians were the first to make New Year’s resolutions, and people all over the world have been breaking them ever since. The early Christians believed the first day of the new year should be spent reflecting on past mistakes and resolving to improve oneself in the new year.)

Who really keeps their New Year’s Resolutions? I found this on Wikipedia (so it must be the Gospel) “Recent research shows that while 52% of participants in a resolution study were confident of success with their goals, only 12% actually achieved their goals. A separate study in 2007 by Richard Wisemen from the University of Bristol showed that 78% of those who set New Year resolutions fail.”

Would I like to give more money to charity? Sure. Can I pay my bills now? Barely.
Do I need to lose weight? Have you SEEN me? LOL
Do I need to spend more time at the gym? Sure – and I plan to. I mean – I see some distinct advantages to that.

But seriously, people sit down this time every year and make a list of things they say they’re going to do. Ease up on drinking. Stop smoking.  Lose weight. Work harder. Spend more time with their families. (And yeah – sometimes it’s the same people listing both of those…. DUH!) Finally landscape the yard. Write a novel. OK, OK… so now, we’re talking.

Yeah – I can get behind that last one… but then does that count as a New Year’s Resolution? What exactly does? Writing books is something I should do anyway, right? Just like losing weight, working out, etc. I plan to have at least two novels completed by the end of 2012. I don’t consider that a resolution. I consider that like saying, “My New Year’s resolution is to go to work everyday.” It’s what I do. (And yes – I give thanks to all powers that be for both my jobs AND my awesome publisher who lets me make money writing!)

Now where was I?

Oh yeah – more focus – that’s a good one. But that will depend on aforementioned mania and/or depression.

So, here I am, at the tail end of another year. And 2011 was not a good one. It’s ok to admit that right? So does making 2012 a better year count as a resolution?

What about selling lots of copies of ”Initiation by Desire” http://www.boldstrokesbooks.com/products.php?product=Initiation-by-Desire-%252d-by-MJ-Williamz that is out in January? Is that a resolution?

Again – where was I?

So, here I am, oh yeah… I said that already… sitting at my computer as a new year looms, asking myself whether or not I should make any New Year’s Resolutions.

And, while not normally one to go along with the crowd, I’ve decided to jump on the bandwagon and make a couple. Yes – literally two.

In the year 2012, I promise to laugh more and love more.

I figure if I can do those two things, everything else will fall into place.

Thank you again for all your support in years gone by and here’s to many more years together.

Happy New Year!

6 Responses to “To Resolve or Not Resolve”


  1. 1 Laydin Michaels January 21, 2012 at 5:25 PM

    Those are two good ones! Resolve to find happiness in the simple things and feel lucky when you could feel down and out. That was my dad’s philosophy and he died smiling at 87.

    Like

  2. 4 Sheri Campbell January 21, 2012 at 8:04 PM

    I love your books , your style, and especially your humor. Seems you’ve got it under control for 2012. I know you will meet your goals. Happy New Year to you and your family.

    Like

  3. 6 Devlyn Sixtyseven January 22, 2012 at 7:24 AM

    MJ, I enjoyed your post thanks for sharing.
    I loved your latest book too, really enjoyable reading.

    Like


Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 2,022 other followers


