Three Days Part 4-The Legs

by LT Marie

Someone told me a long time ago, if you can’t stand you can’t fight. When it comes to a story, the legs don’t just support the weight, they help tie everything together. Here is where I praise my editor and everyone behind the scenes. Yes, the story is mine. My concept. My characters. My words. BUT what helps keep it all together are the people like my editor, Vic, and someone with Rad’s expertise to find all my mistakes and keep my story and characters in check.

After looking over the final draft of Three Days, I still see the original story but a lot has changed, and let me say for the better. Whereas before, the story would’ve fallen flat on it’s face, now it can not only stand–it has strength. Let me explain. Three Days started out as a romance where Vegas happened to be the backdrop. But after being taught how to use the backdrop as an essential part of the storyline, I realized my story would not have been the same if it was set somewhere else. Not only were the characters hot but everything around them was too. Sweaty bodies, skimpy outfits, and of course sex all played a part whether it was used to describe people walking on the street or the exchange between the two main characters. I think this was one of my biggest lessons learned the first time around.

It’s during this part of the process where my manuscript got ripped to shreds. I haven’t seen that much red since college (not a pretty sight, let me tell you). But, it was because of this essential part of the process that I learned what works and what doesn’t. Now, I’m not giving away any trade secrets. What I can tell though is that I appreciated every idea and every suggestion thrown my way. I had a few laughs and a few sleepless nights but eventually everything came together. I’m guessing that a lot of people wouldn’t like it if someone took something they had thrown their heart and soul into and torn it to pieces. Am I right? What I will reiterate is that this is all part of building a story. You need a strong stomach and a lot of strength to get through it but when it’s over, you’ll appreciate everything the people behind the scenes did for you.

So what is my conclusion? That by putting all my small lessons together they created one giant lesson for me. Everything matters. Period. If it’s not important don’t write about it. Which of course is a whole nother lesson in itself. Remember, if you can stand, you can fight. So use everyone supporting you in your corner to help give your story a fighting chance.

One more body part to go. Stay tuned for the feet…..

4 Responses to “Three Days Part 4-The Legs”


  1. 1 Devlyn Sixtyseven October 9, 2011 at 8:41 AM

    I am really enjoying your Blog LT. I have Three Days on my eReader in the ready to read file. Cant wait to get to it.

    Have fun in PTown everyone.

    Like

  2. 2 vicki October 9, 2011 at 8:47 AM

    Hey LT, I am so excited about ur new book, i cant wait for it to come out, to find out whats in store for us. And then the possibilities of a sequel. All the best….

    Like

  3. 3 Karen Wolfer October 9, 2011 at 11:09 AM

    I’ve so enjoyed your well-written blogs, that I’ve put “Three Days” in my shopping cart over at BSB. Very much looking forward to reading it.

    Like

  4. 4 Annette P Clancy (irishlass) October 9, 2011 at 2:03 PM

    Ok, the feet will be coming next. My feet always hurt but by gosh they do hold up. I really want to read your book–thanks.

    Like


Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 2,022 other followers


