Three Days Part 3-The Body

by LT Marie

When I think of bodies, I think of perfect breasts, great legs, and curves in all the right places. I’m sure most lesbians reading this blog right now are saying “Amen Sister!”  But that is not the type of body I’ll be talking about today–Sorry😦 No, what I’ll be talking about is everything in a story that makes the story, well a story.

The body is the “meat and potatoes” of the story. It’s all the events that bring the characters together along with what happens to force them apart. In Three Days, the backdrop is Vegas and a bachelorette party. Both women are reluctant to go and then find out that their weekend is not turning out how they planned. Then there’s of course the dialogue, the interplay with secondary characters, and the one event that brings them together.

The body is the hardest part of the story for me. Openings, closings, and sex are my three favorite parts. The rest is where I, as an author, struggle. Thanks to Rad’s wisdom,  I really had to get into the head of my characters and figure out everything that made them tick. What really helped was acting out the parts. I found I was more in touch with Dakota, but like I said in my first blog, she was much easier for me. Shawn is sensitive, shy, and had to deal with issues of always being beautiful. None of this, of course, applies to me. Dakota, on the other hand, is outspoken, chivalrous, and can get any women she wants (and as my wife will tell you in my case–two out of three ain’t bad). Anyway, I had to find a way to make these two complete opposites work. All I can tell you is that it was challenging, fun, and with the help of a great teacher a story was born.

My best advice to new authors is to remember we are “NEW.” Let the experts guide you. Let them cut, paste, remove, revise, and when they tell you the story needs work, listen to them! All I can say is that I went into the process with a manuscript and came out of it with a book.

2 Responses to “Three Days Part 3-The Body”


  1. 1 Carsen Taite October 7, 2011 at 8:21 AM

    The “body” is always my biggest challenge as well and I’ve learned to have no fear when it comes to moving things around to make the story flow. Thanks for these blogs – very insightful.

    Like

  2. 2 bookgeek October 7, 2011 at 8:48 AM

    thanks for a great blog …. and thanks for listening! The result is a great book with – IMO great punch lines esp. in the “Vegas” part.

    Like


Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 2,023 other followers


