Three Days Part 2 – The Shoulders

by LT Marie

Our next body part to discuss is the Shoulders of the story. The bigger the shoulders, the more weight the story can carry. It gives us an in depth look at the characters. Tells us about their desires, their needs, their wants. It explains how the characters came to this point in their life and how meeting that one special person makes them reexamine where they are in their lives and where they plan on going. In essence, their journey.

Three Days is no different. Dakota and Shawn spend a lot of time on introspection.They both have some tough choices to make which will either lead them toward one another or pull them apart forever. But of course, isn’t that what all romance novels do? I know for me sometimes, I want to crawl into the stories I read and yell, “what are you doing? Of course she loves you, you dope!” But then I start laughing. I realize the author did exactly what they intended to do. They snagged me: hook, line, and sinker. They got me involved. Made me think about their characters as if they were real people. I became invested in their lives and wanted to know their innermost thoughts. I struggled with them, laughed with them, and sometimes even cried with them. When I’ve finally been reduced to a steaming pile of mush is when I begin to praise the author. That ability to touch something in me always turns me into a fan for life.

As a new author, I can only hope to connect with my readers the way other authors have connected with me. My goal is that when you, the reader, finish Shawn and Dakota’s story, you think about them for days to come. You’ll wonder about their future and their lives long after the final page is turned.

1 Response to “Three Days Part 2 – The Shoulders”


  1. 1 Annette P Clancy (irishlass) October 6, 2011 at 4:47 PM

    Oh! Yea, I want to read this story from the head all the way down. Thanks . Irishlass

    Like


Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 2,031 other followers


