Anatomy of Three Days Part 1-The Head

by LT Marie

When most people build things, they normally build from the bottom up. I, on the other hand, like to start from the top down. Yeah, backwards I know. But that’s how I build my stories. Today’s anatomy lesson is about the Head of the Story. What’s that you ask? Well simply its the source of the original idea. Three Days takes place in Vegas because it was in this great city that I came up with the idea for the setting. You see, I was attending a Bachelorette party there with twenty-five straight women (yes, you heard me right) for three days. Now, that’s pretty much where the similarity ends. But here I was sitting in a hotel room twenty floors up staring at the famous Vegas skyline wondering how in the hell I was going to deal with mani/pedi’s, the proper application of make-up, and male strip clubs for the next seventy-two hours. Then, it dawned on me—I’m Not🙂

Needless to say this is when I removed the pen from the hotel room nightstand and began my journey. It started out with a couple of character sketches, a series of events, and of course a theme to tie the story all together. My first character, Dakota was easy to write about. Vegas+ Women=playgirl. No brainer right? She’s fun, dynamic, and loves sex. Perfect, one character down.

Shawn on the other hand, well she was a challenge. I needed the yin to Dakota’s yan. Then it occurred to me, of course! What can a playgirl not have? Someone who doesn’t like to play. Who doesn’t gamble or take chances. Play, gamble, chances, Vegas. Hoorah, I have a story!

So that’s basically how it all started. What’s scary is that looking back, that was eleven years ago. It’s taken me that long to get my story on paper, have a company as great as Bold Strokes Books take me on, and finally complete Dakota’s and Shawn’s incredible journey when my first book, Three Days is released in October 2011.

There you have it. The Head of the story. Stay tuned for more body parts……….

3 Responses to “Anatomy of Three Days Part 1-The Head”


  1. 1 Karen Wolfer October 5, 2011 at 9:19 AM

    Well, this blog certainly has my curiosity up. A.)I can’t wait to read about the other body parts, and B.) I can’t wait to read the book.

    KW

    Like

  2. 2 bookgeek October 5, 2011 at 12:42 PM

    It’s a wonderful, sassy, sexy, serious book with wonderful punch lines. Don’t miss out. 11 yrs paid of in full.

    Like

  3. 3 Devlyn Sixtyseven October 5, 2011 at 9:46 PM

    Sounds like a great story for a novel, can’t wait til payday.

    Like


Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 2,031 other followers


