Life with a Headstrong Character

by MJ Williamz

World, meet Kathleen “Katie” Prentiss. Katie is a 19 year old beauty. She has long, auburn hair, emerald green eyes and an “I don’t take sh!t from anybody” attitude. Katie is all about what Katie wants. Born in 1846 to Theodore and Della Prentiss of New Orleans, she was raised as the privileged, only child of plantation owners. Life has been easy for her. She has not been easy for anyone.

Now, there are several things I know that Katie does well, but you’ll have to read the book to find out what they are (altho knowing I’m the author might give you a bit of a hint LOL) But I didn’t really know much about her, because I’ve been kind of avoiding really getting to know her. Her mother and I don’t know each other all that well, because she’s more of a minor character. I know her mother’s best friend, Corrine very well. She and I became fast friends upon her inception. But Katie? She’s a bit intimidating, to be honest.

So when the time came to write a chapter from her point of view, I was understandably nervous. If I don’t really know her, how can I get inside her head and tell the story? That’s when I learned that there was a positive to having a headstrong, self-absorbed main character – she tells her own story! It took little or no thought on my part to write last night’s scene. Katie took it and made it her own. I (she) wrote over 1,000 in just a couple of hours, which is almost unheard of for me.

Which begs to question – am I still ok to avoid her and let her write the story her way? Or do I really need to suck it up and get to know her? The jury’s still out on that one.

2 Responses to “Life with a Headstrong Character”


  1. 1 Karen May 26, 2011 at 10:55 AM

    Hey MJ.

    I vote you get to know her, or at least let her continue to write her own story. I’d equate it to driving a very fast sports car for the first time; it might be scary and take your breath away, but I’ll bet you’ll never forget the ride!

    Go for it.

    KW

    Like

  2. 2 mjwilliamz May 26, 2011 at 11:59 AM

    Thanks, Karen-
    I did end up taking the time to get to know her. She was quite an interesting character. I hope you’ll check out “Forbidden Passions” when it comes out this Fall so you can get to know her as well.
    ~MJ

    Like


Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 2,031 other followers


