Playing The Writing Game

by Lesley Davis

I write what I want to read. Being very fantasy minded that has led to my previous stories telling the tales of women possessing special powers, magical witches and friendly ghosts, and my own set of masked vigilantes who keep the cities safe at night. After chasing across the rooftops with my Sentinels in “Truth Behind The Mask” I decided to set myself a challenge; could I write a ‘normal’ romance? Normal in the sense that the characters would exist in the here and now, have ordinary jobs and not one hint of a super power. Out of that challenge “Playing Passion’s Game” was born.

But….my idea of normal might be a little bit different to everyone else’s!

I think it’s a safe wager to make that those who know me are aware that I am a Gamer. Yes, a Gamer with a capital G! It’s mentioned proudly in my bio and I freely admit to worshipping at the temple  of Nintendo. When I’m not writing I have some kind of gaming controller or handheld system firmly in my
grasp and I play every and any kind of game available. For this story, I
followed that other old adage when it comes to writing; write what you know. So my newest lead character, Trent, is a gamer. Now, I am aware not
everyone sees the beauty in playing console games so I made sure to concentrate
on the social aspect. After all, gaming online is very much like going out on a
blind date; you have that same giddy nervousness about who you’re going to be
matched up with. The outcome might be a great night had by all or the sad realisation of it not being entirely a match made in heaven! I also made sure that Trent was not your usual stereotypical view of what a gamer is thought to be like. She’s got a job she loves, has a large circle of friends, her life is pretty settled.

As for my other leading lady, Juliet, she was given a role in a business I used to know well. She works for a company like I once did. I’ll use my best Star Wars voice
here – “Before the dark times, before The Recession”. However, she’s seeking more from life than being stuck behind a desk. I was a mortgage associate who ended up watching as my job floundered and died as the recession hit Britain.  I’d been there for a very long time. It was devastating and scary to lose what  had been a main stay in my life, however unhappy I had been there. So I decided  to combine these two halves of my own world into this story. I used the basis  of my greatest pleasure (gaming) and one of my worst experiences (redundancy) to  bring two women together to weave a tale of romance that I hope readers will  enjoy.

I liked proving to myself that yes, I can write a romantic tale without the setting of
fantasy. But I am not giving up that realm any time soon. I love it too much
and still have many stories to tell from it. My next book, “Dark Wings
Descending” out 2012, will attest to that. I love writing about strange and
magical places, populated by people who are a little bit different but fit
those worlds so well. But in the end, what’s most important to me is the
exploration of romance between two women that leads to the happy ever after
experience; no matter what reality they happen to live in.

I’d like to explore this further, but I have a game level I need to get through so if
you’ll excuse me…I’ll just swap keyboard for controller and get back to the
gaming….for now! But be sure to check out the excerpt on the “This Month’s Excerpt” page of the BSB Authors’ blog. Just click on my title.

18 Responses to “Playing The Writing Game”


  1. 1 Karen May 20, 2011 at 10:54 AM

    Hi Lesley.

    I saw your new title in the BSB newlsetter, but what you have written in this blog really has made me want to purchase the book! I love hearing the background story about how a book came to be. I feel connected to it before I’ve even turned the first page.
    So thanks for writing the blog, even though it took you away from the gaming console.😉 Much appreciated. Now get back to that screen and punch through to that next level!

    KW

    Like

    • 2 Lesley Davis May 20, 2011 at 11:28 AM

      Hi Karen

      So glad you enjoyed the blog and I really hope you’ll enjoy “Playing Passion’s Game”, it was a fun book to write and I am very proud of it. I hope you’ll check out my previous works too. Thank you for your wonderful support, I appreciate it! Back to the games now! Lego Pirates today!! A Gamer’s gaming is never done!
      Best wishes
      Lesley

      Like

  2. 3 bookgeek May 20, 2011 at 11:05 AM

    Hi Lesley, just finished your Calluna series (excellent) and Cast a Wide Circle and its sequel (beyond excellent) and just started with your romance.

    Like

    • 4 Lesley Davis May 20, 2011 at 11:32 AM

      Hiya Bookgeek

      So glad you have been enjoying my older books, thank you for seeking them out. I hope you have fun reading about Trent and Juliet now in this latest story. Thank you for your support in my writing, I appreciate it so much.
      Best wishes to you,
      Lesley

      Like

  3. 5 Jacky Hart May 20, 2011 at 3:09 PM

    A wonderful read by a wonderful author, by a wonderful friend! I have been a fan since Keeper of the Piece, and you just get better. I loved Playing passions game, though Keeper will always be my favourite due to Teeko. But I love the characters in Passions game, and hope to enjoy more stories of the characters. You are a wonderful story teller, a modern bard, and a wonderful narrater.

    Never doubt yourself as a novelist. I love your prose!
    Your number one stalker!
    xx

    Like

    • 6 Lesley Davis May 21, 2011 at 6:44 AM

      Hi Jacky

      Thank you for all your wonderful words and dedication to my stories, both old and new! You know I appreciate that so much. I’m writitng today for you so you have more stories to read (see, I can put down the games controller once in a while!!)
      Your support means the world to me!
      Love Lesleyxx

      Like

  4. 7 akadingbat May 20, 2011 at 4:08 PM

    Hi Lesley,

    Interesting blog, nice to know the thought process behind the story.

    I have just finished Playing Passion’s Game and have enjoyed it so much I am reading it again. Would recommend it to everyone an excellent read.

    Have read all your books and I think they are great so looking forward to the new ones. I love your new website to at http://www.lesleydavisauthor.co.uk

    Like

    • 8 Lesley Davis May 21, 2011 at 6:49 AM

      Hi Akadingbat

      Your continued support of my work I know all too well!😉 Thank you so much! I am thrilled you enjoyed “Playing Passion’s Game” so much that you’re back for a further read.

      Thank you so much for your encouragement, I appreciate it so much! And yes, the new website is looking mighty fine!! Thank you for checking it out.
      Love Lesleyxx

      Like

  5. 9 Carsen Taite May 20, 2011 at 4:31 PM

    Loved Truth Behind the Mask and very much looking forward to Playing Passion’s Game. Thanks for the behind the scenes look.

    Like

  6. 11 Toni May 20, 2011 at 5:20 PM

    Hey Lesley,

    You know how much I loved Playing Passion’s Game. This behind the scenes look was an added treat.🙂

    Toni

    Like

    • 12 Lesley Davis May 21, 2011 at 6:53 AM

      Hi Toni

      I was thrilled to bits when you told me you’d enjoyed my story and were reading it immediately again!! I knew you would appreciate ALL the hard work I had to put in to research the gaming side of the story, the hours of games I HAD to play to get the atmosphere just right!😀 A writer’s life is a hard one!! (Thank goodness I didn’t launch myself off buildings for “Truth Behind The Mask”!)
      Chuffed to bits you enjoyed my blog!
      Love Lesleyxx

      Like

  7. 13 Jane May 23, 2011 at 10:54 AM

    Hi Lesley,

    Great blog and fantastic books keep ’em coming🙂

    Love the new website too.

    The other half of your number one stalkers!!!! LOL!!!

    Love Jane xoxoxox

    Like

    • 14 Lesley Davis May 23, 2011 at 4:19 PM

      Dear Jane

      I’ll do my best on the books, I promise! I have very demanding readers who check up on me to make sure that the games controllers aren’t always in my grasp and I am indeed writing!! You know exactly who I mean!😀

      You and Jacky rock! Your encouragement means the world to this writer. Thanks always for your support.

      Love Lesley xx

      Like

  8. 15 Jemma May 23, 2011 at 2:35 PM

    Hey there Lesley,

    I really enjoyed reading both your book and this blog. You seem to have a way with words (funny that eh?)😛.

    You have me smiling like a crazy maniac as I read your book on the train. I loved learning all about Trent and Juliet.

    Oh and Thanks for fanning the flames of my gaming back to life.
    (BTW I am glad you didn’t jump off buildings in research for ‘truth Behind The Mask’.🙂

    Jemma

    Like

    • 16 Lesley Davis May 23, 2011 at 4:05 PM

      Hi Jemma

      I am so glad you enjoyed both this blog and the book it refers to. And I am really pleased that I have helped guide you back toward the fun that is gaming. My job here is done!!😀

      Though I refrained from the leaping tall buildings in a single bound for “Truth Behind The Mask”, my collection of superhero t-shirts were dutifully worn to get myself in the right frame of mind!!😉

      Thank you for your support, I appreciate it very much! Keep reading…and gaming!!

      Love Lesley

      Like

  9. 17 Jodie May 23, 2011 at 10:01 PM

    If I hadn’t already read it and loved it, I’d be rushing to buy it right now. I think it’s safe to say you can definitely write a ‘normal’ romance, brilliantly I might add. Though I’m glad to hear you’re next book is fantasy, you do them so well and there just isn’t enough fantasy around.

    A great blog post Lesley🙂

    Jodie

    Like

    • 18 Lesley Davis May 24, 2011 at 10:33 AM

      Hi Jodie

      A huge thank you! I think I may just revisit this ‘normal’ universe again in time. I’m so pleased you like the fantasy though, that does appear to be where my heart lies! Your support is much appreciated and I promise to write more fantasy to keep you reading!😀

      Glad you enjoyed the blog too and for taking the time to let me know.
      Love Lesley

      Like


Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 2,021 other followers


