“Rest Home Runaways” Book Giveaway!

By Clifford Henderson

Three things I want you to walk away with after reading this blog entry.

1.) You could be a winner. Twice!

2.) I am a woman writer who just happens to be named Clifford.

3.) Victory Editions is da bomb.

The first item is pretty straightforward. I’m offering a book giveaway to anyone who comments on this blog before August 26th, the official one week anniversary of “Rest Home Runaways.”Rest Home Runaways 300 DPI (Paperback or e-book, winner’s choice.) That’s right, make any comment and I’ll enter you in the giveaway. Go to my brand spanking new website, enter a comment there, by the same date, under any of the blog entries, and you get a second chance at winning. This is my way of saying thank you to all my readers, because without readers, well, writing would still be fun, but not as fun. So comment away. And, even if you don’t win, know that I, Clifford Henderson, will consider you a winner anyway, because you read fiction, and people who read fiction are, in my book, winners all.

Second thing on my agenda: Yes, I am a woman named Clifford. I submit this photo as proof.

Clifford

Clifford

 Some of you may have seen my video rant a few years back concerning some readers’ reluctance to read a lesfic novel they thought was written by a man. (It will also give you the reason for my unusual name.) Apparently, the video didn’t work that well; I’m still getting emails from readers who confess they haven’t read me for years because they thought I was one of them. Which I get. I’ve had my mistrustful moments in regard to men writing about lesbians. Too often (notice I’m not saying always) they get it wrong, writing their own fantasies instead of stories that reflect the real deal. But honestly, with so many writers using nomme de plumes (a.k.a. pen names), unless you’ve done a little research, you can’t really be sure of a writer’s gender. Many publishers actually encourage their writers to write under a pen name of an opposite gender because they feel it will help sales. I tell you, the complexities of gender identification are getting more interesting by the minute. But then, like me, you’ve no doubt noticed that this younger generation doesn’t seem to hold the same biases we did, they don’t seem limited by the same restrictions. Shoot. The other day I was standing in line at our local bagelry and saw, among all the band and theater posters, a taped-up sign proclaiming in bold letters: GENDER IS DEAD! Or maybe you are of that younger generation. In which case I say, “Carry on. This world needs you.”

Now, onto the third thing: Victory Editions. Don’t know what that is? It’s Bold Strokes Books’ General Fiction imprint, or what I like to call their Mainstream Lesbian Fiction imprint. Doesn’t that have a snappy sound? What’s an imprint? Imprints are like categories, and most publishers have them. They help the reader find what they like to read. What you will find in BSB’s Victory Editions are lots of page turning stories about the lives of interesting, fun, troubled, triumphant, kick-ass, tender, thoughtful, old, young, and every kind of lesbian you can think up. Sometimes they feature a little romance, sometimes a little action, but always they always offer up a great read. You can spot them by the little logo on the spine of the book. Victory-Editions-sm? Me, I write what I call “the extraordinary lives of ordinary people” and I hope you will check one out. If you’re lucky, you might even win one.

40 Responses to ““Rest Home Runaways” Book Giveaway!”


  1. 1 Kelly Williams August 19, 2014 at 8:26 AM

    Love your writing!! Any plans on anymore audiobooks?

    Liked by 1 person

  2. 3 T Little August 19, 2014 at 9:17 AM

    Nice to meet you, Clifford. Always on the lookout for good lesbian fiction.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. 5 Svetla (Czech fan of English lesfic) August 19, 2014 at 9:47 AM

    Loving all of your books, this one I put on my wish list.

    Liked by 1 person

  4. 7 Sandra Meier August 19, 2014 at 9:49 AM

    Hello from Switzerland
    I would really love to read this “Journey.of-the-heart-story” Rest Home Runaways. Like your writing. Congratulation. Greetings Sandra

    Like

  5. 8 Connie August 19, 2014 at 9:58 AM

    Absolutely love the new website Cliffi!!!! So sleek & clean. The brilliance of the colors are great. Keep writing.

    Liked by 1 person

  6. 10 S.A. August 19, 2014 at 10:20 AM

    Fun blog, and thanks for the chance to win one of your books! I’ve enjoyed others of yours that I’ve read. (I confess that I tend not to read lesbian novels that appear to be written by men – although, for the record, I always new that you’re a woman, thanks to the author photos on the BSB website – so your points about nomme de plumes are well taken.) Congrats on this new book. :)

    Liked by 1 person

  7. 12 Lee Fitzsimmons August 19, 2014 at 10:48 AM

    I have read your other books and enjoyed them immensely. Am eager to read this one.

    Liked by 1 person

  8. 14 vera mattrin August 19, 2014 at 11:26 AM

    yes i would like to win this one,the other books i already have
    great blog thank you

    Liked by 1 person

  9. 16 misterdangerous August 19, 2014 at 11:41 AM

    uh, my brother’s name is Clifford. He was named after my grandfather. I don’t know if my brother likes his name but he was almost name Jorge so I think he dodged a bullet there.

    Guillermo Luna
    The Odd Fellows

    Liked by 1 person

  10. 18 Glenda August 19, 2014 at 1:07 PM

    This book is already on my list to buy, it sounds like a great read.

    Liked by 1 person

  11. 21 Justine August 19, 2014 at 4:21 PM

    I’m just going to repeat what I’ve said several times before. You are the Garrison Keillor of Lesbian literature. I’ve just started Rest Home Runaways and am charmed, as I knew I’d be. You have a real sense of the common folk and portray them so lovingly. Applause applause.
    And in case I win the raffle, please give the copy to Vera instead. She’s a loyal reader and doesn’t get free e-books the way I do.
    Hoping to see you again in the flesh, at some bookfair, some day.
    Bisous from Brussels,
    Justine

    Liked by 1 person

  12. 23 RJ August 19, 2014 at 5:01 PM

    I love the title! Can’t wait to read it!

    Liked by 1 person

  13. 25 petra August 19, 2014 at 6:05 PM

    G’day, I haven’t read any of your books yet, but this one is on my list to check out…it looks like a great read. Thanks for the chance to win a copy :) The new website is smick!

    Liked by 1 person

  14. 27 Mercedes August 19, 2014 at 9:09 PM

    In I go!

    Liked by 1 person

  15. 28 c.j. harte August 19, 2014 at 9:30 PM

    Clifford – Today it’s hard to tell males from females by name only. I know females named Regan, Sam, McKenzie and guys named Gail. Your writing, however, like your name is original and outstanding. cj

    Liked by 1 person

  16. 29 Devlyn August 19, 2014 at 10:08 PM

    Clifford, I just finished Rest Home Runaways and wrote a review of sorts on the Virtual Living Room. In short, I loved the story.

    Liked by 1 person

  17. 31 Sharon E. Owens August 19, 2014 at 10:54 PM

    I enjoyed your previous books and look forward to reading this one as well.

    Liked by 1 person

  18. 32 Marie Foose August 20, 2014 at 12:20 AM

    I would love to win a copy! I have very much enjoyed your other books and look forward to this one too. I am very happy that you are writing about older lesbians. Especially since I am working my way to that age sooner then later!
    I love that you are named Clifford!

    Liked by 1 person

  19. 34 Cheryl August 20, 2014 at 1:23 AM

    Wow, so many great reviews of this book. I look forward to reading it. Please enter my name. 😆

    Like

  20. 35 Morgayne August 20, 2014 at 11:38 AM

    Good morning! Look forward to reading your new book. Congrats, Morgayne

    Like

  21. 36 Anita Bradshaw August 20, 2014 at 11:49 AM

    Tossing my name in and let’s hear it for defying the normal boundaries of gender, in what ever way! Also, I agree Victory Editions has some really great books!

    Like

  22. 37 jo August 20, 2014 at 8:41 PM

    zzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzlove your books, count me in please

    Like

  23. 38 francimcmahon August 26, 2014 at 11:02 AM

    A delightful read about real people.

    Like

  24. 39 Kayla August 26, 2014 at 8:11 PM

    This sounds like a great book! Would love to read!

    Like


  1. 1 The Haps | Women and Words Trackback on September 7, 2014 at 11:06 AM

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 1,722 other followers


Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,722 other followers

